Handmade Thursday: August, August

Welcome Friends,

The days are getting away from me with so much to do lately, but I thought since most of Handmade Thursday’s lovely participants have children, you might appreciate a most recent little ode to August from a child’s point of view – school supplies are already the featured items in stores.  As well as painting and making handmade items, I love to write, and I’m inspired sometimes by the simplest things.

August, August

 August, August, month of gloom,
With thoughts of teacher and school room;
Of reading, writing, and lunch sacks,
And thoughts of lugging filled back packs.

 August, August, month of woe,
Reminding me of each kid’s foe.
I just want things to stay the same;
To shout and run and play a game.

 But wait a minute, I’ll not fret.
There’s four more weeks within you, yet.
Instead I’ll play out in the sun,
And have some more of summer fun!

 copyright©2011Marianne Coyne

To see more Handmade Thursday fun, stop by White Lily Green and say hello to our host, Tracy.  Until next time, may happy days abound.

Marianne

The above images are from http://graphicsfairy.blogspot.com

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 19:14:14

    Super cute, Marianne. Your poem is delightful. I just stopped by to say ‘hi’. I’m having a hard time keeping up too. Glad I’m not alone. Your collage is charming too. Glad to see your creative juices are flowing.
    🙂 Lynn

    Like

    Reply

  2. Susan
    Aug 06, 2011 @ 21:41:41

    will be missing you and your beautiful posts, Marianne! Many Blessings for you! x susan

    Like

    Reply

  3. Sherry
    Aug 06, 2011 @ 03:40:19

    Yes, my children are getting gloomy thinking about school! Very fun post. Thanks for coming by.
    Sherry

    Like

    Reply

  4. Miss Kathy
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 23:47:22

    Oh, I think I can totally identify with this! I’m not at all ready for school to start again. I’ll be back in the classroom on the 29th and I’m just not mentally there! I need some creative time and de-stress time just for me! Think I need to make an ATC – but the first day I have available on my calendar for that is in two weeks!
    Help!
    Joy!
    Miss Kathy

    Like

    Reply

  5. Kristin Cardwell
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 21:39:59

    What a GREAT poem! LOL Thankfully, my two homeschooled girlies are eager to get “back to school”, so I’m spared the end-of-summer groaning. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  6. Susan
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 19:53:02

    what a fun poem you wrote! loving your collage of vintage children too, especially the ones who hung the laundry, so cuteeeee

    x susan

    Like

    Reply

  7. Brenda
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 19:36:10

    Love the collage of the beautiful children and your poem says a lot about the feelings of children having to return to school with the end of summer ahead. It’s just soooo SWEET!
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

  8. Tracy
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 19:30:36

    Awww this is gorgeous! I can just imagine a child saying this. Hanging on to every last minute of the school holidays.

    Thanks so much for linking up x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment