Day After

774_rotting_pumpkin

Day After

Jack O’ Lantern on the curb
Molding from his work absurd,
From keeping ghosts and ghouls at bay
And guiding children on their way.

Giving light through scary face;
A sentinel with noble grace
Lined along the porches many,
Guarding every chocolate penny.

He did his duty for the year,
Giving both a scare and cheer.
I wish he didn’t have to go,
But it’s time – I know, I know.

I wish I could go back a day,
Reliving all the fun and play.
The trick-or-treating and the laughter.
Alas, it’s Halloween – day after.

Marianne Coyne copyright 11/2/16

Good day, everyone.  I hope you enjoy this poem.  I was inspired to write this on a walk, as I came upon a poor Jack O’ Lantern on the curb waiting for the garbage truck.  He had seen better days.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera with me, so had to borrow a photo.

Enjoy a fabulous weekend!  Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

Note: The above photo is from The Bulb Shoppe & Gardens http://thebulbshoppe.com/events

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Florence
    Nov 08, 2016 @ 08:16:54

    Super poem Marianne. Hope all is well.
    Flo x

    Like

    Reply

  2. dgkaye
    Nov 07, 2016 @ 02:07:59

    Beautiful, seasonal post Marianne. By the way, I have featured your book on my Sunday book review today on my blog. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Nov 07, 2016 @ 15:54:22

      Debby, what a happy surprise today!! Thank you so much, I needed this surprise today. I’m popping over right now to see it. You are so sweet, dear friend. You know, I wanted to repost the write-up about your book from one of your recent posts, but couldn’t find the repost button. So I will have to do a post about it myself. Thank you, again!!xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • dgkaye
        Nov 07, 2016 @ 22:11:53

        That was lovely Marianne. I’m self hosted so there is no reblog button for us. You should download the ‘press this’ tool for access to copying blogs. It’s in your dashboard, and if you want to learn more about how it works, come over to my blog and type ‘press this’ in my search bar where you will find a few posts I’ve written about it. 🙂 xo

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

