Goodbye Summer!

Goodbye Summer!
You were grand
With my toes in warm, soft sand;
But ta-ta, adieu, goodbye…
Now Fall’s the apple of my eye.

Until next time, may happy days abound.

Marianne

“Goodbye Summer” by Marianne Coyne copyright©2011

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. macjam47
    Sep 09, 2015 @ 14:06:21

    Beautiful!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Joanne Jamis Cain
    Sep 02, 2015 @ 11:29:31

    I’m ready for fall Marianne! This was a crazy summer weather wise here in PA. First rainy, then hot and dry. Now it is very hot! I am ready for a cool down and some beautiful foliage.
    Blessings to you!
    Joanne

    Like

    Reply

  3. Florence
    Sep 01, 2015 @ 18:49:14

    I am ready to say goodbye to the summer. Love the autumn….the little optical fruit.
    Lovely poem.
    Take care,
    Florence xx

    Like

    Reply

  4. Lavender Dreams
    Sep 01, 2015 @ 00:30:29

    What cute flip flops! We’ll be wearing them awhile longer here in Florida! Love the poem in your previous post too. I’m going to write it in my journal! Hugs, Diane

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Sep 01, 2015 @ 14:27:51

      Thank you, Diane. Yes, I’m sure we’ll be continuing to hear the flipping sound for a while longer here, too. But when September shows her lovely face, I’m ready for Autumn. I think it’s because I grew up in New Jersey. Enjoy your first day of September! ♥

      Like

      Reply

  5. Susan
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 09:26:56

    Hi Marianne! i certainly can feel the fall weather here in the UK, loving ur pink flip flop photo, so so cuteeee and what a lovely poem but sad at the same time…summer’s gone!

    Have a blessed day! x susan

    Like

    Reply

  6. shelia
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 01:00:56

    Hi Marianne! OH, we’re not saying goodbye to summer yet – it’s hotter than blazes still.
    Thank you so much fr popping in to see me and your nice comment.
    be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

    Like

    Reply

  7. Sandi
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 02:20:55

    Hello Marianne,
    Thank you for your visit today and your lovely comments. It’s so sad to say good-bye to Summer. I always envy those who live in warmer climates as their weather never grows too cold. Here in Atlantic Canada, the Winters can be horrible. Last Winter was never-ending and our Spring and Summer were not overly warm either. So, I’m not looking forward to a new season. However, after having said all of that, there is beauty to be found in all seasons and you did write a very nice poem. Happy Pink Saturday and enjoy your weekend.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Like

    Reply

  8. LaVoice
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 21:49:05

    We are a long way from throwing aside flip flops.,I am afraid if there is not a change soon, it will be summer all year in Texas. I could wear flip flops all year, if my feet did not freeze.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Miss Kathy
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 15:35:41

    Ah, yes, Marianne – this weekend the fall decor bins come up from the basement to replace all my summer read, white and blues. I’ve had to bite my hand from taking any new fall goodies off the store shelves, until I make an inventory of what I already have – though I did bring home a lovely new wreath with all my favorite fall colors in a vintage look at a clearance $3.99!! Just had to – you know? Happy Autumn!
    Joy!
    Miss Kathy

    Like

    Reply

  10. Marianne
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 15:09:20

    Hi, Marianne! I’m Marianne too, visiting from Pink Saturday. Very nice poem. Unfortunately, I can’t say goodbye to summer for another month or so.

    Please stop by my blog and say hello.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

