If Only Once…A new Poem

IMG_0342 antique

If Only Once

There is no sleep,
I cannot rest.
My soul is sore within my breast,
And hidden so that none should know
Her sadness and forbidden woe.

How oft I wished she knew the mirth
That should have lightened her at birth,
And never felt the rough of life
That pushed her into endless strife.

How oft I wished she never felt
The cold, grim hearts with tongues like belts,
That flicked her back ‘till it was raw,
Then mocked at all the pain they saw.

If only once my soul could fly
And leer at evil in the eye,
And push their backs against the wall –
Poor excuses, tongues, and all!

But, nay, my only solace be
That my sweet soul hides within me.
Behind an ever growing wall
Where only God can hear her call.

Marianne Coyne©August 4, 2015

I couldn’t sleep last night until this was released.  May your day be a good one, and …

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

Note:  The above image is by Marianne Coyne

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. macjam47
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 00:48:11

    Oh Marianne, this is so sad, but beautiful.

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Aug 06, 2015 @ 01:20:38

      Thank you, Michelle. I appreciate you reading it. I think most souls at one time or another have shared this sentiment, and I just had to get it out of me as the poem was forming in my head last night. Afterward I was able to fall asleep. I hope to share something more uplifting tomorrow. I bought a pretty vintage runner, and will post it. ♥

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. chrissiesz
    Aug 05, 2015 @ 14:26:53

    Sad but beautiful Marianne. Thank ypu for sharing it

    Love Chrissie xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

