Cool Down with Colors and Thoughts of Autumn

IMG_2229

Hi, everyone….I hope you are all doing well today.

I know we should remain in the moment, and it’s nice to revel in summer aromas and the warm sun.  But with temperatures soaring and heat indexes hitting 109+, I can’t help but think of cooler autumn days.  So rummaging through my yarn piles I found this pretty deep blue that reminded me of autumn, and immediately set out to knit something…anything…I think it’s going to be an ear-warmer headband similar to one I saw on…yes…Pinterest 😉

So if it’s just too darn hot where you live, and thinking of that sensational upcoming season cools you down a bit, then go for it…colored leaves, crisp cool breezes, knitting or crocheting beckoning to be played with, a good book beckoning to be read, or the taste of apple crisp…any thought that can do the trick to keep you cooler and more comfortable.  And I will add being grateful for air conditioning helps too.  It’s something I don’t ever take for granted.

I’m not really a knitter, but I like to do simple things on occasion.  It comforts me.  As for you real knitters out there – well, you’re amazing!  So keep inspiring us.  How about you?  Have you been thinking of the cooler autumn and feeling like knitting or crocheting lately?  I’d love to hear about it.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joanne Jamis Cain
    Jul 29, 2015 @ 00:59:17

    Marianne, I have been dreaming of autumn. I’ve been pinning a few things on my “A Season of Thanks” board. It’s in the 90’s here which is probably cooler to you but hot to us.
    For some reason, I am missing the cooler weather. I’m going to try and enjoy August but really, I can’t wait to put a sweater on.
    xo Joanne

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Jul 29, 2015 @ 01:05:27

      I know exactly what you mean, Joanne. It’s in the high 90s-100s here, but the heat index has been lingering around 103-109…Yikes!
      I’ll enjoy August, too, but meanwhile, I’ll have to keep my eyes opened for your autumn pins. xoxo

      Like

      Reply

  2. Kim
    Jul 27, 2015 @ 20:17:00

    You and I are thinking along the same lines today, Marianne. Just this morning I was thinking about the fall season and how I would welcome the cooler temperatures (&reduction of humidity:). It’s not that I want to rush the seasons, more like being able to get outside again and not melt. Like you I am thankful every day for A/C.
    Your knitting project is off to a lovely start. A very pretty shade of blue. I am not a knitter, but I love to look at the blogs of those very talented ladies who do. There are such beautiful yarns available now.
    Keep cool and have a wonderful week.

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Jul 28, 2015 @ 00:30:32

      Kim, you said it perfectly – NOT MELT!! Seriously, right?

      Yes,it is very pretty isn’t it. The shade is like a purple/blue. I’m not really a knitter, either, I crochet more, and like you I admire those fabulous knitters. Stay cool, my friend. ♥

      Like

      Reply

  3. macjam47
    Jul 27, 2015 @ 20:08:04

    It’s been hot here, but I’m not ready for fall yet. I’m still enjoying the summer flowers, sunshine, and glasses of cold iced tea.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Chriisiesz
    Jul 27, 2015 @ 17:40:01

    It’s cold and wet here Marianne and Autumn seems to have arrived early though the trees are still green

    Love Chrissie xx

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Jul 28, 2015 @ 00:25:07

      My one precious time visiting England it was June 1983 and you were having a ‘heat wave’…high 80s to low 90s I believe, and we thought it was nice weather for that time of year coming from Texas, but your blessed countrymen were having to leave work early because it was just so hot. Like in New Jersey, not a lot of air conditioning because you don’t need it as much.

      Well, enjoy some of the cold weather for me, Chrissie. It will be 100 degrees here mid week. Whew!! xoxo

      Like

      Reply

  5. Silver Threading
    Jul 27, 2015 @ 17:39:05

    Lovely post, Marianne. I look forward to the coolness of November in Florida! Have a fabulous week. ❤

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Jul 28, 2015 @ 00:19:54

      Ah, yes Colleen, your Florida weather isn’t too different than ours here around the Houston, Texas area. After all these years, though, I still expect it to start cooling down in September because I was raised in New Jersey. I guess I’m still a four seasons kind of girl at heart. 🙂 ♥

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

