Pinterest: Not So Leisurely Anymore

photo.jpgGood day, everyone,

Welcome to Leisure Lane.  I hope everything is well with you today.

I don’t usually use my blog to hash out beefs I have about things, but I just had to post about Pinterest and their promoted pins.

Let me start here.  I have a job that, well, let’s just say, has nothing to do with my talents or the best of me, and demands more from me than it gives back.  On top of that, I don’t get vacations like most people.  I haven’t had real time off in seven years, unless I’ve been sick…and laying on the couch or in bed all day recovering is not MY idea of a vacation :P.

Pretty Purple flowered pillow PinterestSo for me, Pinterest was my Pincation….a place where I could go and look at pictures that make me relaxed and happy, and give me ideas for the way I’d like to live.  And it’s a place for me to still be creative, by adding some of my writings or quotes to the lovely photos I’m so attracted to.

As my fellow Pinners know, a Pinterest account has a main home page, which is a collection of all pins pinned by me or those boards I follow.  It also contains “picked for you” pins, that Pinterest feels I might be interested in based on the existing pins I’ve been collecting.  I don’t have a problem with the ‘picked for you” pins because they are usually related to something I may be interested in, and they pop up every now and then.  If I like it, I can pin it, and if I don’t, I can ‘hide’ it, and everyone is still happy.

HOWEVER…enter PROMOTED PINS!  These are pins that companies pay for to get their products out to as many pinners as possible.  Now, I have nothing against promoting ones business.  I know the importance of getting yourself noticed.  But suddenly my main home page is inundated – INUNDATED with pins which have NOTHING in common with anything I usually pin.

These are examples of pins I usually choose:

My Purple Crochet
Photos for Pinterest article
Favorite Autumn Look
Pretty Outfit Pinterest
Lovely Sweater PInterst
Pretty Bedroom Pinterest
And many more vintage style aprons, linens, tea party suggestion, etc.  You get the idea.  But the invasive promoted pins that I’m receiving multiple times a day, seven days a week are…well, see for yourself…things like…

Promoted Pin 7this
Promtoed Pin 4 this
Promoted Pin 9this

Dot and Bo Promoted Pin 8

Promoted pin 10

and even, and most especially, THESE!

Just a few samples of the uninvited, unrelated pins I’m getting.

Seriously! What do any of these pins have in common with my taste?  Now I will admit that a few of them, and I do mean a few, have caught my eye and have made me chuckle, like the following pin:

Pinterest Promoted Pin 2But most of these companies’ pins are showing up on my home page in octicate!  Is that even a word?  Well, it is now.  The same pin can show up at the same time, three to eight times at one shot.  And that’s just from one company.

Okay, so what’s the answer?  Well, I decided to begin ‘hiding’ the pins.  Ha!  One day I sat for almost two hours deleting the unwanted pins (I really hate a cluttered page).  And I deleted 80 promoted pins at one sitting!!  That’s right, that didn’t include the evening when I went onto my site and had to start all over again. This is no easy task because unlike the new pins from the boards you follow that show up at the top of the page, these promoted pins show up randomly all throughout the page all the way to the bottom!

After deleting the promoted pins, I answered the question of why I was hiding it (I wasn’t interested in it), but that didn’t matter because the next day, and the next, and so on, the same pins were clogging up my page accompanied by new companies and new pins (rrrrrrr!!!)  I never growl, but….

I then found out that you can block pinners.  Oh, JOY – finally an answer!  So, with no offense intended, I began to go through each promoted pin and block the pinner.  Time consuming, to say the least, but  great, right? Wrong!  Because that doesn’t work, either.  I’m still getting pins from blocked pinners.

So, I’m tired and out of ideas.  My only alternative is to either completely ignore my home page….don’t even look at it…or to stop using Pinterest.  I’ve read many other feeds of people who are getting fed up with this system, too.

Oh, yes, one day I actually sent a nice letter explaining my situation to one of the companies whose pins show up the most (in one sitting I had 20 of their pins on my page).  I still get their pins.

I feel socially violated, in a way, in the sense that my choices are becoming fewer and fewer.  I guess I will just find pictures I like and file them into my own computer files for my ideas and my own enjoyment.  Or I can start my own Akinterest site…how’s that for a name?  If I knew anything about software I would – in fact maybe I will.  It’s already on my ‘to-do’ list.  In the meantime…

I WANT MY OLD PINTEREST BACK – THE ONE THAT RESPECTS THE INDIVIDUAL ME!!

Well, that’s my beef with Pinterest for whatever it’s worth.  I don’t know if any of you feel the same way. Let me know what you think about the promoted pins.  Perhaps you’re simply ‘Ohming’ your way through the chaos.  You’re my hero, if you are.

Until next time, may happy pinning days abound!

Marianne

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Pinterest Update: Happy Pins Make a Happy Pinner | Leisure Lane
  2. Jeff
    Jul 10, 2015 @ 10:40:07

    Welcome the the brave new world Einstein and others warned about! Personal privacy? Unless you’re looking for an abortion, sorry, you don’t have it anymore!
    Facebook, AOL, Pinterest, and countless others are relying upon your rolling over and giving up to their financially motivated behaviors. YOUR interests? They’re secondary compared to the corporate interests that must be served.

    The solution is to act in your own best interest. You’ve taken a big step by alerting others of the problem. Now you can keep fighting to get back your Pinterest, or sent them a message and stop using them altogether. If enough people revolt change will happen. Same goes for our Congress. But will enough people act, or will they just complain and comply? Time will tell.

    I’m with you, Marianne, boycotting Pinterest and their new policy works for me!

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Jul 10, 2015 @ 13:00:53

      Thank you for visiting today, Jeff. Yes, I realized a long time ago that privacy wasn’t an option with everything on the internet today. There is good and bad about it, like everything else. Once my shock dissipates, I usually choose to concentrate on the good part.

      As far as Pinterest is concerned, I really don’t have a problem with them wanting to make money, but I think what they’re doing with promoted pins could have been thought out just a wee bit more, and utilized much better. It seems Pinterest’s promoted pins are willy-nilly strewn throughout the site, when they could have been a bit more discriminating with matching pins to true prospector pinners of those pins. That’s just my opinion from a user standpoint.

      Thank you for the comment, Jeff, and have a great day!

      Like

      Reply

  3. Florence
    Jul 10, 2015 @ 10:13:50

    Hi Marianne. I haven’t had a problem as yet but will go and check. I am like you love to pin to relax and look at pretty pictures. Normally, in the small wee hours because I am not a great sleeper. So I can understand your frustration. I did read some where the other day on how to stop this I think you have to go into your settings. But not 100% on that. I will see If I can the pin that gave the info. If I can, I will let you know the details. Try not to let it get you down. Hopefully there is a solution.
    Have a wonderful weekend my lovely friend,
    Flo xx

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Jul 10, 2015 @ 12:50:11

      Thank you, Florence. If you find the information, yes, please pass it along to me. I’m learning to roll with my alternatives…I really just wanted to voice an opinion about it while I still have that option 😉 Thank you for visiting. Enjoy a delightful day, dear one! xox

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

