Vitamix Heaven

Vitamix Green SmootieGood day, everyone!

I’m so happy you decided to join me today and take a stroll around the Lane.  We’re stopping in at our Health Corner, where I’d like to briefly tell you about the yummyLiciousness you can whip up in a Vitamix blender.  Of course many of you may already know about this, but for years I kept saying, “One day…one day,”  about investing in one.  Well, I was able to finally do it a few months back, and I’m so happy I did!

I was not getting in enough vegetables and fruits, and I’m ashamed to say that some days, as of late, I barely had any.  Enter the Vitamix 7500 series…what a winner!  The green smoothie, as seen above, is like drinking silk.  All particles are whipped up to such a delightfully creamy consistency that getting down those greens is a joy.  I’ll mix baby spinach and some kale (or collard greens – I like to mix it up a bit), some water (coconut water is always a nice alternative on occasion), half a green apple, some pineapple, some zucchini, ice, and we’re good to go.

There are so many vegetables and fruits you can include, and I like to also include some frozen varieties, too.  I will even add in some frozen broccoli florets, frozen mango/strawberry blends,etc. to the other veggies.  And seeds are another great addition.  You almost can’t go wrong!

IMG_2174Above is a very yummy smoothie made with milk, goatmilk yogurt, frozen strawberries (I like to use some frozen berries to cut down on the ice), vanilla extract and some ice.  This was quite a treat, and the good part is that my young adult son, who would rarely put a vegetable or fruit to his mouth, is now enjoying two green smoothies a day, as well as any of the above delights I may whip up.  He notices the difference in himself since drinking these, and that makes my ♥ HAPPY!!

I pour any leftovers into a glass, put it in the refrigerator, and it can be enjoyed the next morning before heading out – just stir and drink.  The Vitamix is very versatile…I’ve only hit upon the surface of all the things you can do with it.

Well, that’s all for now.  I hope you’ve been inspired to fit in some ‘healthy’ in your diet, if you’re not already doing it.  I wish you good health, happy thoughts, and all around well-being.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. D.G.Kaye
    Jun 23, 2015 @ 02:26:35

    Good for you Marianne. I often wondered about that blender. I find it so expensive and can help but wonder if a cheaper version or a juicer wouldn’t work just as well?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Jun 23, 2015 @ 02:59:32

      That’s a good question, D. I have a very good Omega juicer…it is fantastic, and I used it quite a bit. Juicing is an excellent way to help ease the digestive system, and detox. Both products have their good sides. Juicers, though, do not offer any fiber, but with the blender you are also getting the fiber as well, only in a very smooth form. So both products have their own unique benefits.

      The Vitamix is quite expensive, I know. I bought mine on Amazon- brand new – for $541. That included the shipping, and it was a good price. I used my tax refund. I had to make the choice of paying someone to format my book in paperback, or buy a Vitamix. I chose the latter because I really needed to eat better. The paperbacks will have to wait 🙂

      The good thing about the juicer and the blender is that you are breaking down the food’s cellular walls and absorbing more of the nutrients…especially since most of us don’t chew our food enough. So we’re getting a good blast of nutrient absorption.

      Whatever you decide to get, I suggest you buy a good brand. My Omega juicer juices beautifully, and is very easy and quick to clean, and the Vitamix blender blends everything to a perfectly smooth consistency, and cleans up in no time.

      I hope this helped. If you have any more questions about these products, please feel free to contact me.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • D.G.Kaye
        Jun 23, 2015 @ 03:08:07

        Thanks so much Marianne for sharing your great tips. I have a juicer and know that there’s no fiber afterward. I will now look into this. Lovely to connect with you. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

