Tapioca in Spring Colors

Tapioca Pudding 2Tapioca served with a pinch of nutmeg on top.

Hello friends…

Welcome to Leisure Lane, where today we’ve made some yummyLicious tapioca pudding.  Last week I bought a few things at Tuesday Morning (love the store when I can get there), and bought some pretty little serving dishes.  They’re from Portugal.  I love the calm color, and the design.  I thought they would make perfect containers for some delicious tapioca pudding, so I bought 8 of them.  When I mentioned to my son my purpose for them, he didn’t waste any time in obligating me to the task.

Tapioca pudding is a favorite in my home, especially that my mom used to make it for my son when he was little, and he still remembers those fond memories.  He once mentioned that mine is just as good as grandma’s, and that’s a dreamy compliment.  He may be all grown up now, but he still loves the tasty treat.

Tapioca Pudding 3Tapioca with blackberries and a sprinkle of confectioners sugar

It’s delicious no matter how you serve it.  We usually simply eat it plain.  But you can sprinkle a pinch of nutmeg or cinnamon on top.  Or serve it with your favorite berries and a dollop of whipped cream or lightly sifted confectioners sugar.  When I cook the pudding I add almost half of the sugar, and it’s still plenty sweet for our taste.  I also substitute with turbinado or coconut sugar in the recipe.  I almost never use white sugar anymore.  I’m thinking you could mix in some luscious blueberries to the pudding after cooking, then spoon into bowls and chill – Wow, that sounds good!

So that’s what I did with my pretty new dishware.    Which is your favorite pudding?  And how do you like to serve it?

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lavender Dreams
    May 06, 2015 @ 23:44:15

    I could sure use some of this pudding now too. I’m eating soft foods this week. I did make some rice and added some cinnamon and butter to make it taste like dessert. Thank you so much for your sweet comment today. I’ve had a rough day and you encouraged me. I know…that’s what friends are for. Sweet hugs, Diane

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      May 06, 2015 @ 23:55:20

      Aww…I want to hug you {♥} I thought the same thing after I commented..that you could use a nice dish of tapioca pudding – especially still warm from the pan. Have a restful evening, dear one 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  2. Debi
    Apr 28, 2015 @ 13:45:52

    Tapioca is tricky to make! My mom made it perfectly. I am more a bread pudding gal! Not much to mess up there!
    Thank you for visiting EAsel & Quill. easelandquill.blogspot.com
    You may also enjoy Puddleduck Grange. puddleduckgrange.blogspot.com
    Thank you again for visitng me!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Yesteryear Embroideries
    Apr 23, 2015 @ 14:08:33

    Marianne I have never tried tapioca……….now you make me want to!

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Apr 23, 2015 @ 14:54:22

      Try it, Kathleen! I use Minute Tapioca brand. It’s easy to make and quite a treat. I received my embroidered towel today! Lovely! Thank you for visiting…hugs, Marianne xox

      Like

      Reply

  4. Joanne Jamis Cain
    Apr 21, 2015 @ 23:42:44

    Hi Marianne! I’d have to say my favorite pudding is rice. I just love it. When my church has a food festival, they always make it and I sprinkle a bit of cinnamon on it.
    Love your post and the beautiful bowls you bought. Very nice!
    xo Joanne

    Like

    Reply

  5. Brenda
    Apr 21, 2015 @ 19:27:42

    I just can’t believe all the beautiful things/creations you have done lately! I took the time to search through your blog and am amazed at everything. I have missed so much. I am hoping that my life slows down a little bit and I can start blogging again and maybe even creating some things. But let me tell you, how excited I am for you and your new books, the gifts you have received, and the wonderful items you have purchased. I loved strolling through Leisure Lane! I miss you, my friend. Your pudding looks divine!
    Here’s to your health!
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Apr 21, 2015 @ 19:45:43

      Good to ‘see you’, Brenda! Thank you for dropping by. I hope this inspired you to make something fun for the weekend. I miss you, too, and your wonderful blog. I hope you get to slow down a bit and begin doing some fun things…but I do know how that is.

      Sending love and hugs, xoxo

      Like

      Reply

  6. chrissiesz
    Apr 21, 2015 @ 18:55:45

    Looks terrific Marianne i haven’t had tapioca ud since I was at school almost fifty years ago

    Love Chrissie xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

