Summer Potholders

IMG_1853

Hello everyone,

In a previous post, in which I featured similar potholders, a viewer requested the pattern.  So today, in featuring my pretty, summery potholder set, I am also offering the pattern for diagonal knitted potholders.  They’re so easy to make and if you are a minimal knitter, such as myself, they are perfect to try.

The following pattern is for mini potholders, but you can continue with the pattern for any size you want.  I created one large and two mini contrasting potholders.  Let your imagination soar.

Mini Pot Holders

Size 6 needles
cotton yarn – Peaches ‘n Cream or Sugar and Cream

Cast on 3 stitches.
Row 1 – Knit across the 3 stitches.
Row 2 – Knit 2, Yarn Over (YO), knit across.  Knit Row 2 until there are 27 stitches on needle.

Next Row – (Decrease) Knit 1, Knit 2 together, YO, Knit 2 together, Knit across.
Continue decrease row until you have 5 stitches.
Knit 1, Knit 2 together, Knit 2 together.  3 stitches left.
Next Row – Knit across the 3 stitches.
Bind off 3 stitches.

There is a lovely knitted edging that is formed with this pattern.  In the above photo, however, I added a crocheted edging to the existing one.  So just be creative.  I’d love to hear how yours turn out.

Thank you for visiting Leisure Lane.  I hope you found something here to enjoy.  Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

Additional Information Update:

Oh, by the way, I neglected to say that these cotton threads tend to bleed a bit when washed, so pre-wash with some vinegar in the water to set the colors.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Jul 01, 2014 @ 16:26:29

    Marianne, Your pot holders are gorgeous! I love the colors and that pretty edging.
    I always admire the talented knitters and crocheters in blogland. I am considering trying to learn via YouTube. Do you think that’s possible?

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Jul 01, 2014 @ 18:00:34

      Yes, Kim. I’ve seen some good tutorials, and if you are like me, you learn better when someone is showing you the stitches.

      Good luck, and let me know what you’ve done.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Florence
    Jun 28, 2014 @ 05:54:51

    These are lovely. I would love to be able to knit. I can a little bit but I find patterns confusing. I think I could have a go at these. Thank you Marianne for sharing the pattern. I will let you know how I get on.
    Have a wonderful weekend,
    Florence xx

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Jun 28, 2014 @ 12:31:23

      Florence, I know you can do these. I had basically no knitting experience when my friend showed me how to do these, and I fell in love with the pattern. After about the 4th row or so you will begin to really see the triangle and pattern taking shape. It’s wonderful.

      Yes, please let me know how you made out…I’d love to see them. Oh, by the way, I neglected to say that these cotton threads tend to bleed a bit when washed, so pre-wash with some vinegar in the water to set the colors.

      Hugs,
      Marianne

      Like

      Reply

  3. eclecticshorebird
    Jun 22, 2014 @ 19:41:46

    Cute!

    Like

    Reply

  4. LaVoice
    Jun 22, 2014 @ 14:15:13

    Those are such cute pot holders. I would just hang them and not use them.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

