A Pleasurable Bouquet

IMG_1670
Welcome to Leisure Lane, friends…

Yesterday I created a card of congratulations, or “Felicitations”, to my sister for the 15 year mark of her employment at a New Jersey wine distributor.  She loves her job and the color purple (in any and all shades), so I wanted to give her something special for the occasion…Ooooo, I KNEW that wine label would come in handy one day.

I love the way the wine dripped along the label, giving it a bit of color and an aged look.  This was from a demo a few years ago, and because it had been in a bucket of water and ice the label slipped off quite nicely.  I’m not quite sure why we served this wine chilled, but who cares, I got a great label.

The overlay of purple lace is from a thrift store pillow find.  I got rid of the pillow, but kept the lovely lace decorating it.  The background paper I’ve had for a kazillion years, and it’s quite fibrous, which makes it a lot of fun to work with.   Especially if you splatter it with a teeny weeny bit of bleach and water, which I did on a blue piece.  I’ll have to dig that one up for another time.

IMG_1671The glitter is courtesy of the Dollar Tree…and I used the fun eye shadows from the same store on the accent lace and word papers.

IMG_1673I wanted the card to express her tastes as well as my love for her, and pride in her success.  Thank you for sharing with me today.  Be blessed and prosper.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 05:48:15

    Very nice and very nicely done. Sure makes me want to get out the paper and do some cards. Will I? Is the photo of your sister? I like Jeff’s comment on the temperature – how true! ‘Cept it’s cold here lately! Brrr. I hear it’ll thaw on Sunday and drop again on Monday. Wild weather.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Joanne Jamis Cain
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 22:32:42

    Hello Marianne! Just beautiful. I’m sure your sister will just love it! xo Joanne

    Like

    Reply

  3. jeff
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 18:00:09

    I suspect in the heat of the Houston area you’d have to chill any bottle just to get it down to “room temperature”! Nicely done Marianne!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Deb
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 16:28:20

    I so love this piece of work Marianne, beautiful! it would look wonderful in a box frame, your sister is very lucky

    Bee happy x

    Like

    Reply

  5. chrissiesz
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 15:55:07

    This is stunning Marianne and so well thought out for your sister. Always love to see what you make.

    Love Chrissie x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

