Friends and Flowers

IMG_1653 gradientWelcome to Leisure Lane, friends…

I’m sending my friend, Brenda, from the blog, Down Memory La La Lane, this altered card with double layered lace, and the last of the big pieces of the scrapbook paper you may remember from a few of my wall hangings.

IMG_1653The original card design is the bottom 2/3 of the card.  I added the scrapbook paper on the top third.  Then I added a double layer of lace with other embellishments.  A lovely sentiment about friendship and flowers inside the blank card gives it a personal touch.   Brenda doesn’t live far from me, so with a prayer the card will get to her in one piece.

I’ll also be joining Melody at Brown Gingham Creations for REDnesday fun…so come along if you’d like.
A Little Something Extra

Speaking of re-purposing items, I was just at Brown Gingham Creations to see Melody, and she has another blog called, Apronation.  She found an old vintage tablecloth and turned it into a lovely apron.  117For those of you who may have some very old, worn out, but very precious vintage items, don’t throw them away.  Instead, contact Melody and tell her what you have.  She most likely will be able make something special with them for you.  So stop by and take a look.  Melody is a very talented lady.

Thank you for strolling by.  Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. artful affirmations
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 03:38:41

    Hello Marianne, that is a really sweet floral card! Brenda will love it.
    I love re using old items to make them useful and beautiful again. The apron is fab! I was just thinking how I could make an art apron from old textiles, with pockets for my glasses and candy ; )
    hugs,
    Terri

    Like

    Reply

  2. Melody
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 05:05:22

    OMG, You are too kind Marriane. Thanks you for including me in you post.

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Jan 16, 2014 @ 15:10:11

      Your welcome, Melody…it’s always a pleasure to feature the very talented women I’ve come to know and admire over these few blogging years.

      Blessings,
      Marianne

      Like

      Reply

  3. Jenn
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 04:37:00

    VERY very pretty! And, you know, I wonder, could I part with some of my tablecoths in order to make aprons out of them? Some are getting quite worn – and they are so cherished. I wonder . . . that’s a neat idea! Thanks.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Debbie-Dabble
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 02:37:38

    Marianne,
    Pretty card and great apron!!
    Thanks for stopping by!

    Hugs,
    Deb

    Like

    Reply

  5. Celestina Marie
    Jan 15, 2014 @ 21:53:36

    Hi Marianne, Love your gorgeous card. Brenda is going to love it. So nice to meet you and thank you for stopping by and your kind comment. I have so enjoyed my visit to your lovely blog. Such a talent you are.
    Wishing you happy creating. Hugs from Texas,
    Celestina Marie

    Like

    Reply

  6. Deb
    Jan 15, 2014 @ 09:43:52

    Love your card Marianne, Brenda should love it! the apron is so pretty and such a good use of old linens, I can’t throw anything away and my stash is getting big now!

    Bee happy x

    Like

    Reply

  7. Joanne Jamis Cain
    Jan 15, 2014 @ 03:50:08

    What a great idea! I love old tablecloths!

    Like

    Reply

  8. Melody
    Jan 15, 2014 @ 01:34:39

    What a pretty card. Thanks so much for sharing. You are always inspiring.

    Like

    Reply

  9. lynne
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 21:23:12

    This is so pretty, she is a very lucky friend.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

    Reply

  10. chrissiesz
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 18:29:02

    Great idea to alter the card in this way Marianne it looks so beautiful now.

    Love Chrissie x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

