Madonna and Child

IMG_1615 a

Welcome to Leisure Lane, friends,

In the following two Christmas hangers I used some beautiful scrap book paper I had stored away.  It was perfect for these.  At the Dollar Tree I found sheets of stickers portraying Mary and the baby, Jesus, and I had to use them for this project.  I think I’d love to do a framed version of these.

IMG_1615

IMG_1619As I was making these they began to take form on their own.  As if they knew exactly what they wanted to look like.  Isn’t the paper lovely?

 IMG_1620 After I framed the picture of Mary and Jesus, I got the idea to create a little cone for a vase with flowers.  It worked very well for this hanger.  I made a bow with a tiny piece of left over lace, and that added a nice touch.  Nothing goes to waste.

IMG_1622(Please click on photos to see a larger image.)

I loved the way the first Madonna and Child hanger came out so much that I just had to make another one because I really wanted to incorporate a vintage costume gem I had.

IMG_1624The gem dangles from a lace bow adding real charm to the framed holy images.  I’ve always loved this painting and was glad it was part of the many beautiful paintings on the sticker sheets.  Now all I need to do is add the hangers.  I thought long and hard over my ribbon and lace stash, and I think I’m going to go with a satin style ivory colored ribbon to match.

Important Notice

I apologize, folks, but The Empty Little Stocking may not be out in time for this Christmas season due to some glitches.  I’ll keep you posted on this one.

I’m joining Melody and friends for REDnesday, at Brown Gingham Creations.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lynne
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 16:25:10

    Sorry I have taken so long to visit but I was struck with another gastric bug.
    You are on a roll, I am so glad I shared the little pouch (and previous times) so that you could go and have lots of fun yourself.
    A beautiful collection
    Festive Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

    Reply

  2. Melody
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 00:25:14

    Merry Rednesday Christmas Marianne!
    THanks so much for the delightful card you sent…I’m gonna frame it!
    Those wall pockets are gorgeous. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Deb
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 13:35:14

    Love your hangers Marianne your are so clever!

    Bee happy x

    Like

    Reply

  4. chrissiesz
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 06:45:18

    These hangers are wonderful Marianne with the lighter colours you used

    Love Chrissie xx

    Like

    Reply

  5. daniellajoe
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 03:04:44

    Love it !!! It’s perfect 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

