Old Inspirations * 2

IMG_1600Hello Leisure Lane friends,

Welcome to Part 2 of Old Inspirations.  Well, in my last post I talked about making, what you might call, embossed paper designs, using rubber stamps and a water/glue solution.  If you missed that post, click here.  Today I want to show you what you can do with some of those embossed papers, as well as telling you how I made the ‘abstract’ painted papers which also can be used to create great effects.

As you can see in the above photo, the negative space created by the overlay painted paper can be quite nice.  I used card stock, whatever color you prefer, and craft acrylic paints.  An old credit card or something similar creates the pulled colors.  I poured out some paint onto the paper and dragged the card along the paper pulling the paint as I went.  Then I added a different color and repeated the process.

IMG_1607Here  I used some blue, rose, and yellow.  I tore the pieces and placed them on card stock.  Added a button and some embroidery floss.  I accented with a Chinese character stamp.  A matching envelope is always nice, too.

Taking advantage of the shimmer paints and using them with the matte can give a beautiful finish, as well.  After I’ve completed putting down the paints, and allowed the paper to completely dry, I tore pieces and placed them on cards.  You can see that you can get some really wonderful designs.

IMG_1608A more formal, masculine look.  I love using the buttons.  This is a small card with big style.

IMG_1609You can be as subtle or as wild as you want to be.  The bold colors really pack a punch on this one.  I used a sun stamp as accent, and if you notice to the right a little flap to seal your message in, so no envelope is necessary.

I hope you enjoyed this segment, and you’re inspired to try some for yourself.  Let me know if you do, and how they turned out for you.  I hope to be sharing some more when I make them.  These are fun, easy, and full of unlimited possibilities.

Christ.Pin Society new lookAnd for those of you who are new to Leisure Lane, you can still order my novella, “The Christmas Pin Society”…it’s a great story to read even after Christmas when the hustle and bustle has calmed a bit.  It will keep the holiday mood alive.  You can order your favorite version from the sidebar.  And if you’d like to read a synopsis and some reviews, click on my Novella page to find out more.  I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Jan 10, 2014 @ 04:03:13

    I have been catching up on reading your blog and simply had to stop here and comment – I LOVE the style, color and texture of your cards — aha! A way to do my own. I had a ton of stamps and never could get the whole card idea down (in stamps). I ended up with dual tone papers a lot of times. I was thinking about making cards again (the other day) and now, I think I know how I will begin attempting some. Thanks again for the inspiration. Sorry I have been so absent. Getting back to as normal as I get has been a journey! 😉 Hugs, Jenn

    Like

    Reply

  2. Deb
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 13:29:41

    Your work is always so wonderful!

    Bee happy x

    Like

    Reply

  3. chrissiesz
    Dec 14, 2013 @ 06:16:37

    Another wonderful idea Marianne and something I never would have thought of doing.

    Thank you for sharing and inspiring

    Love Chrissie xx

    Like

    Reply

  4. Joanne Jamis Cain
    Dec 14, 2013 @ 01:51:10

    Wow Marianne, these are really beautiful. Your graceful soul comes out in your creative artistry! xo Joanne

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

