Canvas Card

Sailboat Prologue canvas 3Welcome friends,

My neighbor’s mother passed away a few months ago, and I had been meaning to give her the beautiful prologue poem from the musical Hereafter.  My sister sent it to me when our mother passed the end of May.  But then I decided to do something more creative with it…something my neighbor could have for years to come.  So I used a canvas board I had on hand and some beautiful odds and ends, and created this canvas card.

I used pink tissue as the background, which I’ve used in the past with glue, crinkling it, and it makes a wonderful crackled effect.  I found a photo of a vintage postcard on the internet, and this made a perfect background for the printed poem.  I mounted that on mat board, and added it to the canvas, a bit off center so I could decorate the side.  Before starting I wasn’t quite sure about the presentation, then a beach theme began to emerge in my thoughts, and I went with that, using colors, netting, and some glistening items to give it that “by the sea” look.

Sailboat Prologue canvas 8Her mother loved daisies, and I happened to have this one little daisy on hand. It worked perfectly for the effect.

Sailboat Prologue canvas detailOops..a stray little pink flower “glitter” on the rock.  Good thing thing there was not glue attached.

Sailboat Prologue canvas back 2I used a fabric remnant for the backing, and wrapped it a bit on the sides while leaving a fringed top.

When all was said and done, my neighbor loved the piece, and said that her mother was very fond of the beach, and with the daisy it made a lovely memento.  I didn’t have a clear stand for it, but she said that she did, so that worked out.

Thank you for dropping by…I love your visits and you are always welcome here on Leisure Lane.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne ♥

Note: Poem is the Prologue from the musical “Hereafter”.

I’m linking my pink at How Sweet the Sound for Pink Saturday…come joint the fun.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lynne
    Nov 23, 2013 @ 16:26:34

    Not only a gift of art but a gift from your heart that will bring comfort.
    There is a beautiful serenity to this.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

    Reply

  2. jeanniemaries
    Nov 23, 2013 @ 01:07:37

    What a nice thing to do. It will be treasured.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Joanne Jamis Cain
    Nov 22, 2013 @ 13:14:59

    Marianne, isn’t it interesting that you did a beach theme without knowing that her mother was fond of the beach? 😉
    Clearly you were listening to an inner voice and followed along. The card is absolutely beautiful! xo Joanne

    Like

    Reply

  4. Melody
    Nov 22, 2013 @ 01:38:26

    Hi Marianne!
    I’m glad you stopped by. Love your Mixed Media collage.It’s a lovely remeberence

    Like

    Reply

  5. morningajorningAJ
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 16:31:37

    What a lovely thing to do! It’s a very comforting poem.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Deb
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 11:52:04

    It’s beautiful Marianne something she will treasure.

    Bee happy x

    Like

    Reply

  7. chrissieszc
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 07:49:13

    I am sure your neighbour will find great comfort in this beautiful piece Marianne and that you will help her through this very sad time. I felt your pain when your mum died and I pleased that you can help others in their grief as well.

    Love as always Chrissie x

    Like

    Reply

  8. Kathy Young
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 06:59:18

    So nice! 🙂 Missed you last time I saw you at HEB. You were talking with someone and I didn’t want to interrupt. Hope you are doing GREAT!

    Like

    Reply

  9. creative pixie
    Nov 19, 2013 @ 20:41:33

    Sorry to hear about your Mother. It’s lovely that you have a beautiful reminder of her.

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Nov 27, 2013 @ 15:26:13

      Thank you, Jean. My mom lived a good life except the dementia part of it, and I really believed that others were excitedly saying “Here she comes” when she entered in.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

