Handmade Jack-O-Lantern and More

IMG_1549

Good day, and welcome to all my visitors!

It’s REDnesday today at Brown Gingham Creations, and I’m joining our host Melody and guests by showing some of my Autumn reds.

IMG_1551
I must start with my “handsome”, handmade Jack-O-Lantern.  I saw something very similar in a store many years ago, and thought to myself that I could make one with a more home-y appeal.  So I got out some wonderful autumn fabrics I’d been saving for something special, and VOILA!…a happy Jack for years to come.

IMG_1553
I put together this lovely basket full of leaves some years ago, and pull it out every Autumn.  I just love it.  I guess because around these neck of the woods we don’t get fall colors the way other parts of the country do, so we have to create our own color inside.

I think Autumn is Grand!   The colors are warm and always give me a cozy feel.  Now if the temperatures could get out of the 80s we’d really be in business 🙂

Thank you for visiting Leisure Lane today.  Stop by anytime.  And if  you like reds, or would like to share some of your own, don’t forget to stop by Brown Gingham Creations and join the fun.   And make sure you check out all of her fantastic featured recipes that are sure to make the season a little more “Boo-tiful”.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 23:47:09

    Cute jack-o-lantern! Love the fall bouquet. There’s an oak on another street nearby who is just beautiful right now – oranges, light greens, browns – beautiful. (While roses are blooming no less). And, it was 28 degrees here last night or over night. BRRRRRRR. Of course, this is November 14, and your post was 10/30 I think … few days difference. We’ve had early freezes these past two days. Love the cold weather. And the fall colors we’re managing to have … and yes,the roses and others in bloom. Crazy weather. Beautiful.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Yesteryear Embroideries
    Nov 09, 2013 @ 16:55:27

    I LOVE your wonderful Jack O Latern! It is so cute and whimsical! Very creative Marianne!! I love the fall colors as well and agree that it just gets better when the temperature drops! Stay warm…………….I mean……stay cool!!

    Like

    Reply

  3. lynne
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 16:56:08

    The Jack o’Lantern is so adorable!
    A beautiful display for your home.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

    Reply

  4. Deb
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 14:35:15

    Autumn is my favourite season so I just adore your decorations, beautiful colours, you always need a little bit of special fabric put away for a job in the future, that’s my excuse for buying fabric anyway 😉

    Bee happy x

    Like

    Reply

  5. Joanne Jamis Cain
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 10:56:06

    What pretty things Marianne!
    I’m sure even with temperatures in the 80’s in your neck of the woods, it feels like fall in your home.
    xo Joanne

    Like

    Reply

  6. Holly-cutie pie cottage
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 18:22:36

    I love your happy Jack! ♥

    Like

    Reply

  7. Melody
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 17:43:46

    Hi Marianne!
    What an absolutely adorable Jack O’ Lantern

    Like

    Reply

  8. Brenda
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 17:27:56

    I love your creations! They set a wonderful mood. Now come on cooler weather!!
    Loves and hugs,
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

  9. chrissiesz
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 15:13:42

    How wonderful to make a fabric Jack o latern. I love the collection of leaves in the basket as well

    Enjoy the day Marianne

    Love Chrissie xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

