The Maker’s Diet, Phase Two

party balloons & confetti Congratulations to Me

Welcome, dear friends!

I’m back with my completion of Phase Two of The Maker’s Diet.  For any newcomers to my blog, I’ve been on The Maker’s Diet, based on the book by Jordan Rubin.  To see my last post about Phase One, you can click here.

Today ends Phase Two, and it has gone very well.  I will admit, however, that there were a few times I ate something that was NOT on the Phase Two list of foods to enjoy…so basically I’m saying I went off the diet for those few moments in time.  But I did have good reasons for it, and I kept the quantity low.  I think the big turning point in that was in not condemning myself and moving on.  Things like that may happen on occasion, and the worst thing one can do is come from a place of guilt and condemnation.  It’s best to let it go and continue with your focus.  That’s what I did, and that in itself was extremely healing.

In this phase I was able to re-introduce some foods that were restricted on Phase One; for example, raw, unfiltered honey; cow’s milk yogurt; some cow’s milk cheese, sweet potatoes, certain fruits, and other foods.  Again, if you would like to know more about this diet, I suggest that you research it, as I am giving very brief descriptions of it here.

The following are my results of Phase Two:

* I continue to have more energy for longer periods of time during the day. 

* My glucose levels remain stabilized.  

* My intestines feel much better.  Most of the pain I was experiencing before the diet has gone, and they’re continuing to heal. 

* I’m forming better eating habits, and I’m able to have more self control around unhealthy foods. 

* Both spiritual and mental self-discipline and sensitivity has increased immensely.  During Phase One, while in prayer, God led me to a scripture which talks about rebuilding the Temple in Zechariah…”Get on with rebuilding the Temple.  If you do I will bless you”.  I immediately realized that I was getting about the business of rebuilding my Temple, the temple of the Holy Spirit.  This was very exciting for me to think about.  He also re-introduced me to other scripture verses that I saw with new eyes.  Knowledge being revisited and expounded on as I consciously and purposely make them practical aspects of my Life.  I am beginning to see abundance in many things – simple things.  I realized that after all these years of seeking I am filled with an amazing abundance of knowledge, and that just placed me steps ahead in my journey.

There are still some items Jordan Rubin suggests that were either not in my budget range at this time, or unavailable, such as raw, unpasteurized items (unpasteurized is also not something I think I would be into at this time, as there are not any reliable places in the area where I purchase these products/or would trust to consume these products right now).  But I am doing the best I can with what I can purchase, and that seems to be doing alright for me.

So I’m excited to congratulate myself…it’s part of loving myself and recognizing that I’m doing great following the Lord as He guides me along the way that I should go – to live fully, purposely, happily, and abundantly.

Now it’s on to Phase Three.  In this phase I’ll be adding more foods into my diet, such as grains (used sparingly), maple syrup, some other fruits, etc.  This phase is set up to help one to continue a lifetime of healthy choices for holistic well-being.

I hope this inspires you in your journey of practical love, ascension, and blossoming.  May you be blessed without measure as you venture into every new and beautiful phase of your life.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne xo

Note:  The above altered image is from an original watercolor by Marianne Coyne.  All rights reserved.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 22:39:11

    I love your mentioning of Nehemiah and the Temple. Neat relationship – hadn’t thought of it until I was following what you wrote. Hmmmm.

    I’m still stuck in eating the wrong things. Argh!!!

    Congratulations to you!!!

    I don’t know anything about the following link (the folks behind it) but might be worth checking out for natural foods (?) http://www.eatwild.com/index.html

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Sep 10, 2013 @ 14:56:50

      Thanks, Jenn…I just checked out the site link, and wow! I think I’ll be interested in reading some of their articles. When I found out about the unnatural diet they feed to animals for quicker and cheaper production, it was no wonder to me that it can’t possibly be healthy for our bodies, too. Not to mention the stress these animals are under and that vibrates down to us as well.

      Like

      Reply

      • Jenn
        Sep 10, 2013 @ 16:04:06

        I had only looked into the site ‘so far’. I was looking for raw honey and found it. I think our foods could be the problem in so many places – so contrived for growth (both plant and otherwise). Not to mention the generally unhealthy fast food and prepared foods and… well, you know the story.
        Thanks!!! Glad you are enjoying checking out the site. I’ll have to go investigate it more myself.

        Like

  2. Brenda
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 20:30:09

    Oh, by the way…CUTE DRAWING! I congratulate you, too…

    Like

    Reply

  3. Brenda
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 20:28:12

    You have stayed very focused and I’m SO PROUD OF YOU!! Treating one’s body as a Temple is very inspiring! I just wish I could stay focused….LOL.
    Love ya bunches.
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

  4. carolynrice
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 20:15:39

    I’m so proud of you! You did it!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Marianne
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 15:44:23

    Thank you, my dears, for your continued encouragement and support. You are my precious friends, no matter how near or how far, and I appreciate you immensely!

    God bless all of you,
    Marianne xox

    Like

    Reply

  6. Joanne Jamis Cain
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 15:28:23

    Marianne, this is a wonderful post and I love the spiritual quotes that you mentioned (rebuilding your temple)…
    I have found that I feel better when I resist certain foods. And when I think of treating my body better, I believe that is more in align with how God wishes us to take care of ourselves.
    To treat our body as a temple, rather than focus on weight and weight loss, I believe is really the secret to a overall health and happiness.
    Blessings, Joanne

    Like

    Reply

  7. Deb
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 13:10:04

    Well done Marianne, so proud of you! It certainly sounds like it is working for you and I hope it continues 🙂

    Bee happy x

    Like

    Reply

  8. Vicki
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 06:35:20

    Hi, Marianne, I am so glad things are going well for you and your diet. I hope you have a wonderful week! Love and hugs to you~ Vicki

    Like

    Reply

  9. chrissiesz
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 05:07:52

    Such a positive post Marion and I am so pleased to hear that all your effort is being rewarded.

    A few years ago I lost 4stone in weight and changed my lifestyle and it is so worthwhile.

    Thinking of you with love

    Chrissie xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

