The Maker’s Diet, Phase One

IMG_1529 framedHello Friends!

Well, if you’ve read my last post you know that I’ve embarked on a diet change.  I bought the book, The Maker’s Diet, about 8 years ago, and began to read it.  Of course it was filled with so much information that I became a bit overwhelmed and put it down until now.  But due to the fact that my sweet body was screaming at me to change my habits, OR ELSE, I found the book, and made a commitment to myself and to God to make some changes.

I suggest if you want to know more about the diet to research it on your own as I will be giving a very brief description of my journey through it.  Jordan Rubin, the author of the book, healed himself of Crohn’s Dis-ease, of which he was dying at the age of 20.  From that miraculous experience he put together a 40 day diet that is designed to detox and reestablish your body’s overall health and well-being.  It’s done in three phases of two week intervals.

Phase One, which is the phase I’ve just completed is to detox your body, reset your glucose levels, and give your body a rest from many of the toxins it’s been dealing with  for so long.  One can expect to lose excess body weight and regain energy levels.  Each phase is mapped out for you easily and effortlessly.  There are even some recipe ideas included.

These past two [actually three] weeks I’ve had NO sugar or sweeteners of any kind, NO pastas, breads, or grains, NO fruits except berries, grapefruit and citrus.  There are other foods that were avoided, and as I said they are all mapped out easily for you.  BUT, and this is a big BUT…I was never hungry.  You get to eat quite a bit, and I saw results within the first week.  I was so impressed by it, that I decided to continue the first phase one more week, which I’ve just completed.  YAY!!!

My biggest results are as follows:

* Within the first week my blood sugars were stabilized, and I wasn’t getting the regular hypoglycemic low with shakiness or lightheaded feeling I would normally get if I didn’t eat every two to three hours.  This was amazing in itself!  In fact one day  I asked my son if I had eaten lunch!  It was already 2:45 pm and I hadn’t eaten since breakfast at 8:45 am.  I felt great.  Of course I did eat a lunch following that question, but I was amazed and very happy.

* My energy level has lifted dramatically.  I wasn’t all worn out after work with nothing left over.  I actually had energy to spare to fix a healthy meal  for dinner instead of just grabbing whatever I could just to get something in me quickly and easily.  Yuck! Those days are over!  Praise God!!!!

* The awful bloating in my belly went away, and that took inches off of me without even trying.  I had been going on sugar binges at work on and off for years, and it was really wreaking havoc on my insides, especially my intestines.  My digestion was getting worse, and now I can see a dramatic improvement.

*I am eating healthier than I have in years!  I have been on and off eating properly for a long time.  I have found that sheep’s milk cheese is absolutely delicious and I could eat a whole wedge – but I don’t of course.

I haven’t been able to use all the products  Jordan Rubin suggests at this time due to some budget constraints at the moment, but I used some very healthy alternatives such in the multivitamins, probiotics, and such.  And of course, it would be much easier to heal if I was at home instead of having to go into an overstimulating job.  But I am confident that all of that will change soon, and I will be placed in more desirable situations as I progress in spirit, soul, and body.

Well, on to Phase Two!  In this phase I will be reintroducing more fruits, and some other foods.  Still no grains, breads, or sugar, except raw unfiltered honey.  But my body is loving it all.  I am excited about this commitment to eating, thinking, and being healthy, positive, and more active.  This is going to ensure I have the energy, creativity, and spirit that I need to produce great things.

I’ll keep you posted.  I thank God for teaching me, guiding my steps, and providing me with all I need.  I thank Christ Jesus for teaching me and honoring me with his Life.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne xo

Note: The above image is a watercolor miniature sketch by Marianne Coyne.  All rights reserved.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chrissiesz
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 05:28:07

    Sounds like you are doing well Marianne and it is good to know you feel so much better.

    Thank you for the lovely comments pn my blog and for keeping in touch. For some reason I am not linked to WordPress any more so I will try to sort that out.

    Take care. Love and a hug

    Chrissie xx

    Like

    Reply

  2. Yesteryear Embroideries
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 17:21:34

    Lovely drawing! Hurray for you to stick to your diet to become more healthy!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Deb
    Aug 24, 2013 @ 08:59:34

    Glad to hear it is working for you Marianne, it’s amazing what you can accomplish when you are feeling good! have a wonderful weekend and keep up the good work 🙂

    Bee happy x

    Like

    Reply

  4. carolynrice
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 19:55:51

    That’s so cool that you are doing it! I have that book as well… …hmm..maybe I should take it out and look at it.:)

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Aug 21, 2013 @ 22:15:46

      Do take a look at it, Caroline…I think you will be surprised at how do-able it really is. If I may, I would suggest going straight to the Phase One list of foods to enjoy and foods to avoid. You can get a better idea of how it will work. Then you can reacquaint yourself with the information part of the book. For me it wasn’t as overwhelming that way, and I really needed to get into the diet for my well-being.

      Like

      Reply

  5. Joanne Jamis Cain
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 19:40:54

    Good to hear from you! Glad this diet is working wonders- you are an inspiration! xo Joanne

    Like

    Reply

  6. Brenda
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 18:27:18

    I’m very proud of you for sticking with this diet and seeing great results! It’s encouraging!! Love your painting.
    Here’s to your health!
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

  7. Jenn
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 17:58:06

    Nice drawing, BTW. Been thinking about you – just been quite busy otherwise. Very interesting post. I looked up the book and have referred your post to family … as well as thinking about all you’ve said. Thanks for sharing it. Jenn

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

