The Sparkle In Your Eyes

Bluebonnet Heaven (resized) detail

The Sparkle in Your Eyes

 There was a sparkle in your eyes
It shone so bright and clear.
Beckoning that I could come
And be held gently near.

 It was the beacon of your soul
That lit my heart a way.
And taught me love and tenderness
Each and every day.

 That sparkle was my sign of joy,
Security and comfort.
It came so naturally to you
Without much strain or effort.

 It held its own for many years;
A cheery countenance.
Until at last it slowly dimmed,
Though never lost its essence.

 Mother, dear, I wish right now
That I could see it shine;
That loving sparkle in your eyes,
So precious and divine.

 

Copyright©2013 Marianne Coyne

Hello friends,

Thank you for stopping by Leisure Lane.  Lately, I’ve been inclined to feature some of my writings illustrated with my artwork for some visual effect.   I hope you enjoy it.

May you all be blessed with abundance of all good things, and until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

Note:  Above image is an altered detail from the original oil painting, “Bluebonnet Heaven”, byMarianne Coyne.  The poem is copyright©2013 Marianne Coyne.  All rights reserved.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terri
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 23:12:21

    Oh beautiful painting, and even more beautiful poetry!
    Hugs,
    Terri

    Like

    Reply

  2. Katherine's Daughter
    Jul 10, 2013 @ 19:24:58

    A beautiful memorial poem for your dear mother. Blessings to you Marianne, Joanne xo

    Like

    Reply

  3. chrissiesz
    Jul 10, 2013 @ 18:43:32

    Beautiful picture Marianne and very meaningful poem for you and for many of us

    Sending love and a hug you way

    Chrissie xxx

    Like

    Reply

  4. Deb
    Jul 10, 2013 @ 15:55:20

    I always enjoy my visits to Leisure Lane Marianne 🙂 Couldn’t help but take a photo of the beach hut for you while in Devon.

    Bee happy x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

