If the Word was a Cupcake

Cupcake

If the Word of God was a cupcake, would we indulge ourselves more often?  Would we make the time no matter how busy we are, at least once a day, to satiate our appetite?  Would we think about it day and night, knowing it was so close, within arms reach, until we just had to have it?   Would we gobble it down, or slowly engage in its luscious goodness?  Would we go back for seconds, or thirds because its flavor was just too good to resist?

“My people are being destroyed because they don’t know Me…”  Hosea 4:6 (NLT 2007).

IMG_0909
The Word of God is like a smorgasbord of spiritual morsels waiting to be devoured by anyone looking to sweeten some part of their life.  There is something to be found in it that will delight, satisfy, and replenish every hungry soul.  You cannot walk away from it without finding just the right words for you at the very moment you need them.  And, like any good cupcake, the Word is always fresh to eyes willing to see it, and moist on any tongue willing to speak it.

IMG_0907
And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”
(Matthew 18:3)  Let us approach our Eternal Creator and Its Word like children, wide-eyed, awed, and excited about all the possibilities before us.

“…God is Love.” (1 John 4:8)  That’s the icing on the Cupcake of Life.  And when I sit down to enjoy a cupcake I always begin with the icing.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

Note: Photographs are from a visit to “Rise Cupcakes” shop

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Yesteryear Embroideries
    May 28, 2013 @ 19:11:11

    How thought provoking and inspirationa! And so true!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Jenn
    May 23, 2013 @ 22:55:09

    Great post. You know, prayer and a relationship with God is the same way – through His Word we come to know Him better – through the Holy Spirit, through every jot and tittle (or bite of the Word) … And … why don’t we want seconds and thirds? It’s so easy to push Him out of the way – but so costly! Thanks for your post.

    PS I was nominated for a Super Sweet Blogger Award and thus, have mentioned you in my post. Enjoy the post – no pressure to respond … thanks. Jenn

    Like

    Reply

  3. Terri
    May 22, 2013 @ 21:11:38

    Hello Marianne,
    What a thoughtful post! Maybe it is because we don’t know GOD tastes so good!
    : )
    I hope you are doing well and are having a good spring. June is just around the corner! Can you believe it?
    Hugs,
    Terri

    Like

    Reply

  4. Linda Adams
    May 21, 2013 @ 17:59:09

    Hi Marianne, Thank you, The next time I have a cupcake I will think of your thoughts in this post. Thanks, Joyous Wishes, Linda

    Like

    Reply

  5. Marianne
    May 21, 2013 @ 13:22:55

    This is truly the amazing way God works…last week I was waiting patiently on the Lord about something I hope to reveal to you soon 😉 I went on the computer asking God to lead me, and I came across a photo of a cupcake. Then words began to come to me which led to this post.

    I already had cupcake photos of my own, which I hadn’t used yet, so they were perfect for this. And this post was born. I, too, gleaned much from it. And I realized that God was telling me to simply keep focused on Him.

    I try to feed on the Word every day…every, every day. It’s what keeps me focused on the good God has in store for me, on what His will is, and what I should expect for my Life.

    Thank you for your comments, friends. It’s always a pleasure to hear from you.

    Marianne xo

    Like

    Reply

  6. Katherine's Daughter
    May 21, 2013 @ 12:12:25

    Marianne, this is a truly beautiful post….so inspirational!
    I love cupcakes and may never look at them the same! Thank you for a fresh perspective! xo Joanne

    Like

    Reply

  7. Brenda
    May 21, 2013 @ 11:17:59

    Such beautiful words, Marianne. I just wanted to cry when I read the words from Hosea, and yet today people still don’t know they are destroyed by not knowing Him. If only they could get to know Him through a cupcake. I would go back for seconds and thirds! And just like you, I’d start with the icing…
    Very beautiful!
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

  8. Jeff
    May 21, 2013 @ 10:52:46

    Brilliant!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

