Prayers for My Mother

IMG_0421 mother framed

My dear friends,

My sister had to call hospice for my mother, who has been progressively suffering with dementia for quite some years now.  She is having trouble swallowing, so she’s not taking in as much food as she normally would.  Her functions have deteriorated much at this point, and I would like to ask for your prayers that our Lord take her in her sleep, as she always wanted to go.  To take her before they ever have to administer any of those horrible drugs.

My mother is in New Jersey, so she is quite far from me, but when my sister was with her this evening she fed her pudding, of which she ate all, and texted to tell me.  I called her and asked her to put the phone to my mother’s ear so that I could tell her how much I loved her.  She did and she said that my mom’s eyes got darker, like when you get excited, and that she nodded her head when I told her my name.

That may be the last time I get to speak to her on this earth…my voice to her ear…so I’m glad I was able to.  Last night, while in bed saying my prayers,  I was telling her that she could go to God if she was so inclined and not to be afraid to leave me behind…then a whole poem flooded into me, and I had to get out of bed to write it down.  I would like to share it here.  For those of you who still have your moms, hold them close…don’t wait one minute longer to mail that card, or make that phone call, or visit them.  I’ve missed my mom for a long time now, but knowing that she won’t be here on earth is a hard thing to imagine.

Fly, Mother

 Fly, Mother, fly…
Fly to God if you’re so inclined.
Don’t be afraid to leave me behind.

 You’ve done all you can.
You fought a good fight.

Allow God to love you,
and end your long plight.

 You loved and you nurtured.
You held me so near.
I’ll always remember
your voice saying, “dear”.

 You gave me your best,
And all that you knew.
I’ve loved you most dearly,
have I ever told you?

 Don’t fret, my sweet mother.
Don’t tarry for me.
Your Lord waits to show
what you’ve so longed to see.

 He’s waiting to show you
His fullness and glory.
To heal you, my darling;
your life and your story.

 I’ll miss you, dear mother,
But you must not fear.
For God has promised
to look after me here.

 Goodnight, my precious.
I shan’t say goodbye.
For I hope to see you
one day in the ‘sky’.

 That place we call heaven;
the place we call home.
Where angels and souls
delightfully roam.

 Don’t wait any longer.
You mustn’t be late.

Oh, this is the part
I knew I would hate.

 

 copyrighted©Marianne Coyne 2013

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    May 12, 2013 @ 20:03:30

    Just stopping by … thinking about ya.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Yesteryear Embroideries
    May 11, 2013 @ 04:17:37

    Marianne, this filled my eyes with tears. My heart goes out to you and for your mom. Prayers and hugs for you and your mother. Love the poem

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      May 11, 2013 @ 14:10:05

      Thank you, Kathleen. Everyone has been so supportive. I am surrounded by love and compassion, and that means the world to me. I know she is on her way to the bliss she’s been waiting for. xo

      Like

      Reply

  3. jeff
    May 10, 2013 @ 08:11:36

    I’ve known your Mom for about 53 years, most of my life. She’s been neighbor, co-worker, friend, and a surrogate mother, feeding me relentlessly. I’ve been privileged to spend countless hours around her, and have seen her in good times and bad. One of the deepest impressions I’ve been left with is her boundless love for her family. In her heart and mind, her kids always came first, before herself or anything else. It’s beautiful to see her spirit live on in you and Denise. I look forward to our ultimate reunion, and pray for the grace of peace in these difficult days.

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      May 10, 2013 @ 13:46:25

      We share many wonderful memories, Jeff, and also some not so wonderful. But that really is the whole of life, and you were there through it all, Intimately woven into our family, and I into yours. From childhood days to adulthood, your presence made my life ever more full. Thank you. xo

      Like

      Reply

  4. Florence
    May 10, 2013 @ 06:01:51

    My thoughts and prayers are with you all. Beautiful poem.
    Take care my lovely friend.
    Florence x

    Like

    Reply

  5. lifebeam
    May 09, 2013 @ 21:36:30

    I’m so sorry hear this Marianne. I do understand how you feel. I have taken cared of patients with Dementia & Alzheimer’s when I was a younger nurse and I’ve worked with their family members. I also lost both my parents but when they were sick. It’s like we (the kids) were the parents and they were our kids. You and your family are in my thoughts & prayers. More blessing to you!

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      May 09, 2013 @ 22:30:18

      Thank you so much, dear one. My sister lives in New Jersey about 20 minutes from the home where my mother is being taken care of, and she has had to deal with all the legal and emotional decisions.

      My prayers are with her also, that she is kept in divine well being and protected from the stress this causes her. She’s been so strong during all these years, and I think once my dear mother has passed into her bliss, my sister will be able to release, refresh, and restore. xo

      Like

      Reply

  6. Brenda
    May 09, 2013 @ 17:39:39

    What a gorgeous picture of your mom. I can just see her now holding you so close and calling you “dear.” “You know, Dear, you are a wonderful little girl.” “Dear, would you please help set the table?” “Don’t worry, Dear, everything is going to be OK.” You are such a Dear, Marianne. And my heart and my prayers are with you. May God comfort you and your siblings through this time.
    I am but a phone call away and if you need me, I can come running.
    Love you,
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      May 09, 2013 @ 17:50:25

      Yes, and also, “Dear, shall we have a cup of tea?” She would always say it in an exciting way…thank you my sweet friend.

      Thank you all for letting me celebrate my mother with you. I’m sure there will be more to come. I love you! xox

      Like

      Reply

  7. Deb
    May 09, 2013 @ 07:13:23

    Sorry to hear about your mum Marianne, my thoughts are with you all Such a beautiful poem sweetie, take care of each other.

    Bee happy x

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      May 09, 2013 @ 13:18:18

      Thank you, Deb. My mother wrote poetry, too, and she used to make up songs, and hum and sing them while she did her housework. A wonderful memory for me. That is one of the areas about her that I take after, and I know she would be happy that I wrote it. xo

      Like

      Reply

  8. chrissiesz
    May 09, 2013 @ 05:05:24

    You and your mum are in my prayers Marianne. So sad that she is this way but maybe her time to go is near.

    Such a beautiful photograph and poem you posted-thank you for sharing those

    Love and a Hug Chrissie xx

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      May 09, 2013 @ 13:14:49

      Chrissie, dear, thank you so much for your prayer and compliment. I never saw my mother without lipstick or her hair coiffed neatly and curled, except if she was so ill she was in bed. I know if she saw herself now she wouldn’t be very happy about it. But I also know that once this is over, she will be in a state of beauty forever. xo

      Like

      Reply

  9. Jenn
    May 09, 2013 @ 02:42:55

    What a beautiful woman she is in that photo. I’m sorry to hear this news. Your poem is so touching … straight from the heart and wonderful. I’ve been thinking about all these things as I’m older my folks are surely older. I’m glad they are still here – but more than likely “that day” shows up. I agree with you in hoping she does not suffer but goes peacefully in her sleep before things worsen and are more stressful on her in any way. We have dementia in a family member that’s stole the person away … and breaks our hearts. Thank you for sharing your poem. I pray the Lord comfort you in this process too. Take care. Hugs. Jenn

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      May 09, 2013 @ 03:14:57

      Thank you, Jenn. I think she was beautiful, too, and she was always very photogenic. Yes, you said it best…dementia steals these loved ones from us. The sad thing is we are never sure what they are or are not aware of, especially when they aren’t really able to communicate. Thank you for your prayer. I am grateful. God bless your parents and “lost’ family member…may God preserve them in His love. xo

      Like

      Reply

  10. Katherine's Daughter
    May 09, 2013 @ 02:28:37

    I am with my mother Marianne as I read this. I am praying for your family and especially for your mom. Xoxo Your poem is beautiful….

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      May 09, 2013 @ 03:09:38

      Thank you, Joanne…give your mom a hug for me. And thank you for your prayers, your support, and encouragement. Such dear friends, I’ve made here blogging. xo

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

