For God’s Sake: The New Disciple

New Disciple 1

Hello friends,

Well, as promised, here is the first of 8 in the adventures of the new disciple.  “For God’s Sake” was inspired while I was doing Kare and Mare.  I really can’t remember the actual ‘thing’ which triggered the comic panel, but I’m sure it was something funny.

It is based on the idealistic daydream of a woman whose heart is passionate toward God.  She imagines what it would have been like if she had been disciple of the physical Jesus of Nazareth.  But her little “quirkies’ seem to pop up.  Jesus certainly is a patient man.  He loves and accepts her anyway, hoping her quirks will eventually diminish under his tutelage…and if anyone has a chance of getting his hopes manifested it certainly would be Him.

I wrote this during the 18 months that God wooed me into his love, and I’ve been enamored ever since.

I am very blessed that God has gifted me with talents that allow me to express every bit of who I am…they have been a venue by which to express my hopes, my desires, my dreams, my passions, and have even been quite therapeutic during certain circumstances in my life.  In all of it I relish the fact that God inspires me to put down on paper or canvas, in various inspired mediums, all that is inside of me.   My hope in sharing these is that they make you laugh…they do me.  After all, if you can’t laugh at yourself, who can you really laugh at?  But, as all I create, they have provided good insights, and I treasure them for that.

Thank you for visiting me here at Leisure Lane.  I always enjoy your visits, and treasure your comments.  May you find laughter and joy in this day, dear ones.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

Note:  “For God’s Sake: The New Disciple” is a comic panel created by Marianne Coyne.  All rights reserved.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Apr 26, 2013 @ 19:55:31

    I enjoyed reading your explanation of the sketch. I wonder if the word “pure” had anything to do with the use of “Purell” (that triggered your sketch). God’s patience is amazing – as He works out all the quirks …

    Thanks, Jenn

    Like

    Reply

  2. Linda Adams
    Apr 26, 2013 @ 16:03:37

    A very cute and an amusing idea Marianne. Joyous Wishes, Linda

    Like

    Reply

  3. Marianne
    Apr 26, 2013 @ 13:34:51

    Thanks, gals…It’s the “If I were king of the forest…” syndrome…you know, all these big ideas of how you envision what you’d be like all “ruffing”, and “gruffing”, but when you actually get into the forest, you’re like “I do believe in ghosts, I do, I do, I do!” LOL It really takes someone like Jesus to teach us there really is a better and braver way with Him…trusting in the Father and letting go of fear to allow love’s power to do its stuff.

    What a journey!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Brenda
    Apr 26, 2013 @ 11:23:08

    I love these little series of the Little Disciple, Marianne. I’m looking forward to others seeing them, too. We all have our little “quirks” in life. This is such a good way at laughing at ourselves. I love it that you have her sitting on the floor with a Bible and “thinking” what it would be like if SHE were a Disciple, little quirks and all. I just think it’s so cute and SO REAL.
    I love your drawings. The layout is so great and very understandable. I love how you pay attention to details.
    You’re the best,
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

  5. chrissiesz
    Apr 26, 2013 @ 05:39:28

    Wonderful post

    Love Chrissie xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

