Kare and Mare: Get out the Sunglasses

Kare and Mare 18

Once, back in the days I was still coloring my hair, I thought I’d throw caution to the wind and do something a little different – something a little spicier.  Well, the red hue was a bit more ‘stage-like’ than I wanted.  Not too bad, but definitely noticeable.  But looking at the bright side, I thought since it was only a few days after Halloween, maybe people would think it was left over from my costume 😉  I held that thought in my mind until it washed out and I could start over…col.

Roses are red,
Violets are blue,
Hair should be natural
Boo-h00-h00!

If you’ve missed any “Kare and Mare”, or you’d like to know more about them, you can go to the Kare and Mare page and view them there.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

Note:  “Kare and Mare” is a comic panel created by Marianne Coyne.  All rights reserved.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jody
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 00:54:17

    I’ve never had the nerve to dye my hair… but I did have a really bad perm once! It was my very first and absolute last experimentation with my hair!

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 02:23:34

      One time I went for a perm…it looked great out of the salon, but by the time I arrived home, which was down the street, all the curls had gone straight. And my hair felt like icky doll’s hair for the longest time.

      Like

      Reply

  2. lynne
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 16:40:26

    LOL
    As a red head should I be offended LOL.
    When I was 18 or maybe 19, at an age when I hadn’t quite accepted my hair colour (one too many nasty remarks made during my school years) so I decided to have blonde highlights – as is said “we live and learn, we live and learn!”. Thankfully I have long since accepted my colour.
    This post has to be my favourite to date.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Mar 26, 2013 @ 17:49:29

      LOl…Funny because I saw beautiful red hair yesterday at the store on a young woman, and her little son had the exact same color as his mom. They looked awesome together. I couldn’t take my eyes away…luckily they were ahead of me so I didn’t look suspicious with the staring.

      I’m sorry you experienced being made fun of when you where younger, because natural red (not like Mare’s imitation) is vibrantly lovely!

      Like

      Reply

  3. Marianne
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 15:24:39

    Thank you, ladies, for your funny stories…you make my day shine, and my hair…hee, hee.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Jenn
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 22:43:18

    Having dark brown hair, I thought it’d be neat to bleach it out like my cousin did. I almost died over the results. We went to the store and I put another 2-3 dark colors on my hair before I would go home to my husband. I was afraid my hair would fall out and conditioned it like nobody’s business. Now days, my stylist steps back and says “I love the color we did on your hair”. It’s naturally silver against dark brown – as if someone had done it very well. Though, in the sun, it looks purely white or silver. That’s just so different! :/ Enjoyed reading the comments … Jenn

    Like

    Reply

  5. Katherine's Daughter
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 17:35:39

    I stopped coloring my hair two years ago this month. It just got to be too much maintenance. A co- worker let her natural color grow out and I was inspired. Now, I love my silver accents against my light black hair. 🙂 xo Joanne

    Like

    Reply

  6. Brenda
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 17:02:07

    OH, MAN! I am now trying to decide if I want to be a “platinum blond.” COL (chuckle out loud). I was very red there for a while myself (as you well know), and now a brunette, but the gray roots are so much harder to cover! LOL! The color starts fading and almost looks like blond highlight on top of my head and dark on the bottom part, but the roots…..COL (crying out loud)… Needless to say, I am having a HARD time transitioning like everyone else… Waaaaaahhhh…. sniff, sniff.
    But Mare made me laugh because it made me remember a time when I was young and was actually a platinum blond. A friend of mine was using this “rinse” in her hair and had suggested that I use some. Well, I did. The color turned PURPLE on my hair, but she told me not to worry about it because it just makes your hair shine. So I thought, “I’ll leave it on a little longer.” Hahahahahaha…The color shined alright…PURPLE!! Now a days young people color their hair purple and it’s OK, but back then it was frowned upon. My mother wouldn’t help me get another color, so I had to get a babysitting job and forged through. Thanks for bringing back a good memory for me! Now, what do I do about my hair today?
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

  7. Linda
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 16:33:43

    I spent many years as a red-head but now I am quite content with my natural silver/white highlights. Joy to you, Linda

    Like

    Reply

  8. Deb
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 14:31:36

    Love this one! I have tried several different hair colours over the years and always end up prefering natural!

    Bee happy x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

