Halloween Song

Dear friends,

First and foremost, I would like to give God gratitude for His faithfulness in a proclamation of safety for my family in New Jersey during hurricane Sandy.  And for those of you in the affected states who are visiting this site, I pray you and your families were kept safe, also.

Now, as promised, I would like to share the following Halloween song I wrote back in 2009.  I was taking a walk right before Halloween that year, and inspiration hit.  This year I decided to illustrate it.

I prepared the sketches during the last few evenings, and today I had a day off, so I made copies of the drawings and colored them in for more impact.  I apologize for the ‘roughness’ of them, but as I said I have one day off before Halloween, and I had to do them quickly, and they’re painted on printer paper (I know)…COL.. I hope to make proper illustrations one day.

I played with some colors, but they’re not set in stone for the next illustrations.  As you read it I hope it flows with a little melody for you.

I Better Get Going

 I better get going,
I’m losing the light.
I better get going,
it’s Halloween night.
I better getting going
before I get a fright…

 Ahhh, ahhh, Halloween
Ahhh, ahhh, Halloween….

 I quicken my pace,
there’s no time to rest.
The sounds that I hear
are really no jest.
And lights are flickering
o’er every family’s crest…

 Ahhh, ahhh, Halloween
Ahhh, ahhh, Halloween…

 Acorns are crunching
under my feet.
Oh my, there’s a boy
in a ghostly white sheet,
and trick-or-treaters on every street…

 Ahhh, ahhh, Halloween
Ahhh, ahhh, Halloween…

 I guess they were right;
I’m not old enough
to be on my own
doing trick-or-treat stuff,
It’s too scary for me,
and sidewalks are too rough…

 Ahhh, ahhh, Halloween
Ahhh, ahhh, Halloween…

 It’s the candy I came for
to have a sweet treat.
But I’ve tarried too long
on my sore little feet.
And the darker it gets
the faster my heart beats…

 Ahhh, ahhh, Halloween
Ahhh, ahhh, Halloween…

 There’s only one way,
if I really must.
It’s the very last thing
that I wanted to trust;
But now on my broom
and to home with a thrust…

 Ahhh, ahhh, Halloween
Ahhh, ahhh, Hall…o…weeeen…

 

copyright©2009 Marianne Coyne

Thank you for visiting me here on Leisure Lane.  I hope you had a nice time, and you’ll come back to visit.  Be safe and blessed.

Until next time, may a HAPPY HALLOWEEN abound!!

Marianne (^…^)

The above images, Little Witch’s Halloween, are copyright©Marianne Coyne 2012.  The poem, I Better Get Going, copyright©Marianne Coyne 2009.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Nov 18, 2012 @ 01:01:33

    Stopping by to see what’s new – actually “getting out” for a bit. Feeling better but not 100% still. I was wondering about your family and the aftermath of the storm … if they’ve had any problems.
    Your drawings are so cheery – love her little face … enjoyed seeing them again!

    Hugs, Jenn

    Like

    Reply

  2. Susan
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 12:11:36

    Oh Marianne! firstly I pray that your family in New Jersey are safe and my thoughts and prayers to those who are affected by hurricane Sandy!

    secondly, I absolutely adore and love your illustrations!! so cute and beautifully made! the halloween song you wrote is so perfect with the illustration and i just cant help but giggle looking at the illustrations, it’s so fun!

    love,
    Susan

    Like

    Reply

  3. Yesteryear Embroideries
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 19:38:56

    Love the little girl and the song! Just so wonderful for Halloween! You are certainly talented!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Florence
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 10:30:35

    Happy Halloween Marianne. Your illustrations are….. stunning. Wow! Love your song. What a talented lady you are.
    Take care,
    Florence x

    Like

    Reply

  5. lifebeam
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 03:23:06

    So precious and fun! Happy Halloween to you too! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  6. Jenn
    Oct 30, 2012 @ 23:20:10

    She’s beautiful and precious! Great illustrations! Cute song. I can just imagine either your illustrated girl (or you) thinking those thoughts on the way home on Halloween! Enjoyed it. Thank you.

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Oct 31, 2012 @ 00:10:43

      That’s funny you should say that, Jenn, because I’ve been told that the little girl looks like I did when I was little…and it does! I did that purely coincidentally.

      Like

      Reply

  7. Kerrie
    Oct 30, 2012 @ 19:38:54

    No need for you to apologize, the illustrations are wonderful! Your poem is great and a nice surprise ending. Super cool for Halloween!

    Like

    Reply

  8. Brenda
    Oct 30, 2012 @ 19:22:25

    What beautiful illustrations!! You are such a great artist! The expression goes very well with your song. I love the last illustration because it looks like she hit a dip in the air and spilled her candy with her pig-tails trailing behind. Beautiful, BEAUTIFUL work!!
    I would also like to say I do love your lovely cards in the previous posts. I can’t believe I haven’t visited before now. You are very thoughtful to send such wonderful cards.
    (((HUGS)))
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

