Healthfully Delicious!

IMG_1255 frame

Welcome to Leisure Lane, everyone!

Well I’ve been doing very well diminishing sugar from my diet.  First no sugar for nearly three weeks, and then after that I ate no more than 2-10 grams of added sugar in a day, and not even every day.  So I am very happy with myself.

I’ve also discovered some new breakfast ideas, and I’m sharing one with you today.  I’ve been enjoying the ‘new’ ancient grains on the market now-a-days, like quinoa, mixed grains, and a new one for me, Farro.  Farro is an Italian grain, and it is wonderful.  The version I bought takes about 10 minutes to cook, and had a great breakfast parfait recipe on the side.

It called for vanilla yogurt, so I bought a plain Greek yogurt (I love them, they taste more like sour cream), and I added a wonderful vanilla extract – Yum – it was perfect without all the added sugar of store bought vanilla yogurt.  I layered the yogurt, Farro, and cut strawberries alternately and ~Voila! ~ a delicious breakfast full of protein, fiber, and goodness.

You could drizzle a little honey over the Farro as you alternate layers to sweeten it a bit more, but I enjoyed it as is.  You would be surprised how you can retrain your taste buds.  I think I might try it with the honey sometime though.  And you could add any extract you prefer.  Here are some ideas:

*Add lemon extract with a touch of lemon zest to yogurt and serve with your favorite fruit with lemon zest on top.

*Add almond extract, and sprinkle some sliced almonds between the layers.

*Or you could use mandarin oranges, pineapples, peaches, blueberries, or apples

The combinations are limitless!

I hope you enjoyed your visit today, and you were inspired to eat healthier and yummier.  Thank you for stopping by.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

I’m joining Rednesday…Happy Rednesday everyone!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 18:04:40

    Hi, Marianne, my friend,
    My hat is off to you!! I certainly need to follow in your footsteps and limit my sugar intake. Your breakfast treat looks yummy, and you are right, we can retrain our tastebuds. I kicked the coke habit as they are loaded with sugar. Now, when I taste one, they are too sweet for me!! I hope you have the best of weeks! Vicki

    Like

    Reply

  2. Deb
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 08:26:24

    Oooh so yummy! well done you for staying away from sugar! hope you are having a wonderful weekend sweetie 🙂

    Bee happy x

    Like

    Reply

  3. Jenn
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 14:55:20

    PS thanks!!!!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Jenn
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 14:54:29

    That sounds (and looks) great! Sugar is a tough one to kick. I haven’t even tried much. I should. I love cooked barley as a cereal. I tried the quinoa as a sidedish but not yet as a cereal. Hmmmm. Good ideas! Great (beautiful) photo.

    Like

    Reply

  5. lynne
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 11:26:45

    This looks divine. I have to say that Greek Yogurt is my all time favourite, I find flavoured yoghurts can be very synthetic in taste.
    Well done you.
    WIshes
    Lynne

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Sep 12, 2012 @ 14:30:15

      I totally agree, Lynne, and could not have said it better…pre-flavored yogurts definitely taste synthetic..especially the vanilla. Hmm..I’m looking forward to adding a little chocolate to the yogurt. What do you think? ☺

      Like

      Reply

  6. chrissiesz
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 05:16:16

    Sounds great-good luck

    Love Chrissie xxxx

    Like

    Reply

  7. LaVoice
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 02:42:16

    If you stick to what you mentioned, you will do just fine.

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Sep 12, 2012 @ 14:28:02

      Thank you, La Voice…I’m doing well with it, but I will admit that I haven’t given up goodies forever. But I know that moderation and alteration can work wonders.

      Like

      Reply

  8. KatherinesDaughter
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 02:08:46

    Sounds delicious! I love greek yogurt! xo Joanne

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Sep 12, 2012 @ 14:26:41

      It was delicious, and the Farro grain can be used in almost anything. Like quinoa, you can also cook it up with apples and add cinnamon…Mmm-mm! Sounds good on a cold morning.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

