Homemade Card, muffins, and Bath Powder

(click to enlarge to see the glitter)

Hello friends,

I’d like to show you some things I’ve been up to.  Nothing to write home about, but enough to keep me out of trouble…col..

I made the above card for a co-worker friend who helps make being ‘there’ a little more bearable.  It’s her birthday, and I accompanied the card with some homemade body dusting powder.  I put it in a very pretty ceramic container but forgot to take a photo. ( The muffins are a combination flour carrot muffin with NO SUGAR added…I’ve been off of processed sugar for 14 days!!!  I’m so proud of myself.  Any future goodies with sugar will be eaten on occasion, but I’ve committed to adjusting to a healthier lifestyle.)

On the other hand, I did remember to take a photo of the powder in this pretty glass container, which I gave to a neighbor who’s been so sweet to share her garden delights with us.

I would love to have the real fluffy, old-fashioned powder puffs, but I think I’ll have to order online for that.  They are almost impossible to find in a store now-a-days.

This body powder was very easy to make, and is so natural that you could eat it, though I wouldn’t recommend it ;)…  Equal parts cornstarch and tapioca starch (flour), and half the amount of baking soda (the baking soda adds a nice deodorant aspect).  Add enough essential oil drops to suit your desired aroma strength (I used Lavender for this powder), and mix.  Sift it through a sifter or mesh strainer, and put it into any pretty container with a lid.  Decorate it as desired.

Or you can funnel it into a shaker.  I used this widowed pepper shaker.  I bought it years ago because I liked the cheery colors and design, but never put anything in it.  Now, with new purpose, it can sprinkle dust instead of collect it.

These dusting powders make perfect gifts, and you can use any essential oils you like.  I prefer the oils because they don’t give me the itchy nose or sneezy felling that store bought  fragrances do…especially the toiletry items.  Or you can leave out the fragrance for a refreshing unscented powder, which I did for my co-worker, as she is sometimes bothered by scents.

You can also add the oils to purified water with a touch of witch hazel or alcohol, and add to a spray bottle for a lovely, refreshing body spray anytime.  I made some with Jasmine essential oil, and it’s divine.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Dusting Body Powder

1 cup cornstarch
1 cup tapioca starch (flour)
1/2 cup baking soda
approx. 10-15 drops of essential oil
mix ingredients and sift.  The fragrance will enhance as it sits.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for visiting Leisure Lane.   Until next time may happy days abound!

Marianne

A Little Something Extra

Once in a “blue moon”

We’re having a second full moon this month, which is called a ‘blue moon’.  I took these shots out of the kitchen window.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne Moncrieff
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 15:42:02

    The powder looks so wonderful and I like it in the pretty glass dish but the shaker brings a wonderful touch of whimsy (which I am partial to!)
    Congratulations on 14 days stepping away from sugar.
    Your card is also so pretty, your work colleague will be thrilled.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

    Reply

  2. KatherinesDaughter
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:04:19

    I remember my grandmother had dusting powder when I was a little girl. (maybe it was Fabrege?) Your post brings back lots of memories! Good to hear from you- have a wonderful holiday weekend! xo Joanne

    Like

    Reply

  3. Deb
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 07:17:07

    Love your postcard from Susan too 🙂 never heard of making your own powder before, you are so clever, love the glass dish it is so pretty. Have a happy weekend my dear friend.

    Bee happy x

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Aug 31, 2012 @ 14:12:35

      I’ve been wanting to make my own powder for years. A few years back I tried with just the cornstarch and essential oils, and that was good, but a little too thick. So I finally went online, where you can find dozens of recipes…this is just one recipe. You can always play around with them to suit your unique needs and preferences.
      Talc, which is found in most powders here in the U.S., is just not healthy.

      Like

      Reply

  4. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 00:09:32

    How nice of Miss Tea to remember you with a thoughtful postcard. Indonesia is so far away! What an exciting trip. And speaking of thoughtful … that would be YOU! Your sweet gift is a lovely expression of friendship and caring for your friend and I know she’ll appreciate it. The glass jar is so pretty too. And NO SUGAR, Marianne!!?? That’s so impressive. I was doing so good with my eating a month ago but I’ve fallen away somewhat. Still better, but not as good as I’d like. So good for you!! I know sugar is NOT good for us so I give you lots of credit. Have a nice Labor Day weekend. It’s finally pleasant here after our hot summer so I’m enjoying finally having the windows open 🙂
    xoxox,
    Lynn

    Like

    Reply

  5. Jenn
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 21:39:13

    Just reading about the powders and sprays relaxes my thoughts. Great idea and beautifully packaged too. I enjoyed getting to see the glitter on your card close up – that’s cool. Don’t often see those glittery details in photos. Neat card too.

    Plus, the postcard is neat – colorful stamping on it. I was over on another blog which featured post cards – interesting how things happen in sets or such.

    Enjoyed your post (pretty pepper-to-powder shaker).

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

