The Elissa…Part 2

As promised, friends, here is another poem of the grand ship “Elissa”.  For those of you who might have missed my original post on “Elissa”, and more information please see The Elissa…Part 1.

Elissa full_sail

The Tall And Staunch Elissa

When south winds blow and clouds drift by,
And blue as lapis is the sky,
The memory of a ship comes nigh;
The Tall and Staunch Elissa.

 Her life began back many years
When sailors drank their rum with cheers,
And toasted her through salty tears;
The Tall and Staunch Elissa.

 She never left a port they say,
Without puffed sails in great display,
Inspiring tales told to this day;
The Tall and Staunch Elissa.

 Twice under British flag she sailed
From Galveston, and never failed
To leave men waving as they hailed;
The Tall and Staunch Elissa.

For many years she did her best,
Until at last she laid to rest,
Rusting in a briny nest;
The Tall and Staunch Elissa.

Then, before a sure demise,
She was found to great surprise.
Now restored – her greatest prize;
The Tall and Staunch Elissa.

There’s rare alike her; not a mate
Who’s been blessed with such a fate
To once again set sail to date;
The Tall and Staunch Elissa.

(If you decide to ever roam
To Galveston where she is home
You’ll see her sailing sea-green foam;
The Tall and Staunch Elissa.)

 

copyright©2008 Marianne Coyne

I hope you enjoyed the poem, and your visit to Leisure Lane.  I hope the Elissa is an inspiration to restoration in your life.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

The above photo is from the Galveston Historical Foundation website.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Accountants Lady
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:43:32

    Beautiful, I feel like Elissa is personified as this noble being here, which is very interesting indeed!

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Apr 24, 2015 @ 14:24:29

      Thank you for visiting and for your appreciated comment. It always does my heart good to know that what I do has meaning to another. You’re welcome anytime. I hope you share your stroll on Leisure Lane with a friend.

      Have a delightful day,
      Marianne

      Like

      Reply

  2. Serviced Apartments Guy
    Mar 26, 2014 @ 14:45:19

    What a lovely poem, you make her sound so beautiful!

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Mar 26, 2014 @ 15:48:05

      Thank you for visiting, and for your encouraging comment. I’m glad you enjoyed the poem. I’ve never seen her in person, but even her photos were inspiring. I’m sure in real life she’s a true beauty!

      May your day be blessed,
      Marianne

      Like

      Reply

  3. Photo Guy
    Jul 30, 2013 @ 12:34:42

    I love this, especially the line: ‘There’s rare alike her; not a mate
    Who’s been blessed with such a fate’ This is so very accomplished!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Vicki
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 04:21:40

    What a gorgeous ship, my friend, and your poems are wonderful tributes to her!! I have been to Galveston but have not seen this beauty. I am going to make it a point to see her next time I am there. Hope you are having a good week! Vicki

    Like

    Reply

  5. Jenn
    Aug 25, 2012 @ 22:52:41

    Have you submitted the poems to Galveston’s Historical Foundation? And, now, I see someone must have asked you about it above, for I see your response. Shame you never heard from them again, though. They are great poems. I especially like this one. Hugs!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 16:03:47

    What a beautiful ship and a beautiful tribute, Marianne. Both poems are so fitting for such a majestic vessel. Hope all is well with you. We’re finally enjoying some cooler weather. What a blessing it is!!
    xo,
    Lynn

    Like

    Reply

  7. Brenda @ Down Memory La La Lane
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 20:34:07

    I remember when we first heard about the Elissa, you was so excited and it inspired you so much. Your poems are so wonderful and gives good tribute to such a beautiful ship.
    I can’t believe I missed 3 of your posts! Where does that time go? But now I’m all caught up.
    I love the card you made for Karen. It is just beautiful!! I know she felt great joy when she received it. You are a very special friend.
    Love you,
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

  8. KatherinesDaughter
    Aug 21, 2012 @ 01:46:27

    A beautiful poem and a beautiful picture! Your poetry reminds me of poems I read years ago, in college. Good stuff!! xo Joanne

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Aug 21, 2012 @ 14:04:41

      Wow, thank you, Joanne…now MY sails are puffed!
      You are all so encouraging. I may just get to live out my purpose, yet.

      Blessings to all of you for “Yes” answered prayers, and fullness in health!

      Like

      Reply

  9. Yesteryear Embroideries
    Aug 20, 2012 @ 17:56:08

    Loved both portions of the poem! Such a pretty ship and I love how you wrote in poetry about her!

    Like

    Reply

  10. Deb
    Aug 20, 2012 @ 14:39:21

    You are a constant source of inspiration sweetie 🙂 thank you for all of your visits, they are always appreciated and welcomed. Have a wonderfully happy week my friend.

    Bee happy x

    PS. I keep forgetting to say I finished your book The Christmas Pin Society on Kindle and wanted to say how much I loved it and I thought it was really well written, well done sweetie!

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Aug 21, 2012 @ 00:08:54

      Thank you, Deb..I appreciate your visits, also, and I’m so happy you enjoyed the book. I haven’t had a chance to read your first chapter yet, but I will let you know when I do. I am so happy to have met you and all the wonderful blogger friends who are so supportive and inspirational.

      Like

      Reply

  11. Linda Adams
    Aug 20, 2012 @ 14:24:21

    The ship is beautiful and it’s wonderful that someone restored it. Your poem is a lovely tribute you should contact the owners. Have a wonderful week. Joyous wishes, Liinda

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Aug 21, 2012 @ 00:05:10

      Thank you, Linda…

      After I wrote the two poems I emailed them with a letter to the Galveston Historical Foundation…they wrote me back saying that they really enjoyed them, and that they were passed along to a few more people. I never heard from them again, but I’m glad they were able to read them.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

