For My Dad…A Father’s Day Remembrance

Dear friends…

Welcome to Leisure Lane, as we celebrate Father’s Day.

I didn’t have lazy parents…I rarely saw my parents lounging around doing nothing, except on occasion or late at night.  They were always busy doing something, so I don’t really know where I inherited my laziness.  But that’s a subject for another session…I mean post.

Not all things come up roses all the time, and my dear father battled with a troubled emotional past for most of his life.  But he worked hard to provide for all of us, and he didn’t always have an easy time of it.  He also put aside most of who he really was and what he really had a passion for in order to accomplish this.  But we always had plenty to eat, good clothes to wear, and a good education. And he did it all from Love.

My father loved cardinals, so the following is dedicated to him…a poem I wrote some years ago with him in mind.  An altered picture of one of  the cardinals from my Knittington Fairies collection accompanies it.  Using Photoscape, I’ve added a little Forget-Me-Not flower as a reminder to remember the man who brought me into the world, gave his all, and did his best to sustain me..  I’d like to think the spirit of the cardinal is taking it to him with love from me.

The Cardinal

The cardinal perched upon the limb
And chirped his song most gaily;
Welcoming a new sunrise
As was his custom daily.

 I too, urged by his bright song
Woke to tender recollection;
Thoughts of my two fathers dear
Whom for the cardinal share affection.

 The one, he fondly loved the bird
For its demeanor royal;
The Other, for creating him
Would He remain most loyal.

 And then I thought how both they still
With loving dedication,
Attend the cardinal’s every need
From each one’s heavenly station.

 

 copyright©2004 Marianne Coyne

Happy Father’s Day!  Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

Joining Pink Saturday at How Sweet the Sound.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cheoy Lee
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 15:08:34

    Very touching. I like how you don’t look at the past with rose-tinted glasses, you assess it’s positives and negatives in a realistic, measured way, accounting for the troubled times and begin grateful for the good. An incredibly mature attitude.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Caroline Mintz
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 21:04:38

    Such a lovely tribute to our Fathers….! Your post was so thoughtfully created and it’s so uplifting. What beautiful watercolors…You are a gifted artist!
    Thank you for your kind comment on my blog. I do agree with you…I think it would be perfect if we could all spend time every week with our grandbabies!
    Blessings, sweet Marianne!
    Carolynn

    Like

    Reply

  3. Brenda
    Jun 18, 2012 @ 12:37:20

    Such a lovely poem! Great meaning and tender love. You did your father a great justice by dedicating it to him. It brought a smile!
    Love you,
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

  4. KatherinesDaughter
    Jun 17, 2012 @ 21:35:20

    Beautiful Marianne! I too love cardinals and feel they are a very special bird…
    Love, Joanne

    Like

    Reply

  5. lynne
    Jun 17, 2012 @ 12:17:02

    Hi
    Heartfelt and utterly touching in every way.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

    Reply

  6. Rose Cottrill
    Jun 17, 2012 @ 04:11:32

    You have a beautiful entry this week.

    Happy Pink Saturday. Come and take a peek at my PINK when you get a chance. Enjoy Father’s Day!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

