Vintage Hankies

Hello friends…

Welcome to Leisure Lane.  I’d like to share some hankies that were my mom’s.   I just think they are lovely things.  I remember seeing these in her dresser drawer when I was a girl.  I think hankies are beautifully feminine, and I would love to bring them back in style.

Aren’t the crocheted edgings delightful?

Very delicate, and yet think how many years these have lasted!

I love the designs, too.  They really inspire me.

And I can keep them all in this beautifully crocheted pouch I found at a local thrift store.  I posted about it in November, and dreamed of it holding some of my mother’s decorative cloth darlings.

I hope you enjoyed the hankies.  Thank you for dropping by.  Your visits and comments are pearls to me.

I’m linking today with Suzanne from Coloradolady for Vintage Thingie Thursday, Liz from The Brambleberry Cottage for Time Travel Thursday, and Sue from It’s a Very Cherry World for Rednesday.

For this Saturday, I’m linking with Beverly from How Sweet the Sound for Pink Saturday.  Put your pink on!

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn @thevintagenest
    Jun 10, 2012 @ 14:00:07

    I have seen some very sweet curtain valances made from old hankies and bed dust ruffles too. They are just charming and a nice way to show off the old hankies. I like to use the hankies that are damaged, reconstructed on my little pillow case dresses. Love your collection. xo

    Like

    Reply

  2. Caroline Mintz
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 23:12:19

    I love, love, love your post! Vintage hankies are right up there with vintage aprons with me! They’re so nostalgic and remind me of my Gramma!
    Thank you for the wonderful photos…and, the sweet walk down memory lane!
    Blessings,
    Carolynn

    Like

    Reply

  3. Brenda
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 17:56:05

    Oh, I love the little hankies. They are so beautiful. Ladies were sure ladies back then. Everything was so….proper. I am glad that you are keeping these little treasures of your mothers. I know they always bring sweet memories and smiles.
    I LOVE your paper designs!! They are so very colorful and really accent the hankies. You don’t know what a SMILE it brought to my face! I am in awe at how wonderful it looks.
    Have a glorious day!
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

  4. Sandi
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 14:25:37

    Good morning Marianne,
    Happy Pinks! Your hankies are so pretty; so feminine! How nice to have your mother’s. Thank you for your visit and your good wishes on my feature in the RH magazine. I haven’t seen the magazine yet and I do look forward to seeing it! Have a delightful day, my friend.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Like

    Reply

  5. Judy
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 17:01:25

    That is so sweet to have your mother’s hankies. What a beautiful treasure of times gone by and sweet memories as well. Thank you for stopping by to say hello.

    Hugs,
    Judy

    Like

    Reply

  6. Jenn
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 15:13:43

    Wait, wait, I’m back. Is that one of your paper designs laying alongside the hankies? I recognize the cherry pink. I LOVE the paper – did you do it as a notepad or what? And, after just having come back and forth from this post and the November post – I do have to re-say that I love your photography. Sometimes, when I reach the comments I forget the things I hope to say as I look through a post. I love the contrast of the roses and the hankies – vintage and durable yet not. Wonderful. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  7. Jenn
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 15:06:02

    All I had to do was see the title of your post and I melted. I absolutely love vintage hankies. I have several of my grandmother’s and then some that my mom obtained via Salvation Army Auctions. I love them all. In fact, I can no longer easily distinguish those of my grandmother from the “newer” ones. I carry them, one at a time, in my purse. I love your hankie holder! Ahhh. Just wonderful. Lovely post and I’ll go check out the November post. How’d I miss that one? Maybe I didn’t. I’ll have to go see and find out!

    Like

    Reply

  8. Sarah ~ Magnolia's Attic
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 14:49:03

    Oh such beautiful hankies! I picked up a pile of them at a garage sale and just love them. But the best are two that were my mother’s — those I will never part with! I love the idea of a crocheted bag to hold them!
    Thanks so much for your lovely comment on my blog!

    Like

    Reply

  9. Amy
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 02:16:54

    Very pretty. I love them, too.

    Like

    Reply

  10. Jill
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 00:19:01

    I’m partial to the hankies, I have over 400 that belonged to my Mom! I used to buy them for her all the time……

    Like

    Reply

  11. Sue
    May 31, 2012 @ 22:06:40

    What a wonderful collection of hankies….and so special!!! I’ve collected them for many years…even a few that were my grandmothers and mothers. I still give them as gifts….they fit so nicely in a card. Thanks for visiting my Bread Baking post, today.

    Like

    Reply

  12. Yesteryear Embroideries
    May 31, 2012 @ 19:10:39

    WOW, I collect hankies as well! Yours are beautiful!

    Like

    Reply

  13. Carol @ Old Glory Cottage
    May 31, 2012 @ 17:55:59

    I love vintage hankies too! I got started collecting them after my daughter lost a tooth at my Grandma’s, and she wrapped it in one of Grandma’s pretty hankies and put it under her pillow. After that, we decided we needed more hankies!
    Happy REDnesday,
    Carol

    Like

    Reply

  14. LaVoice
    May 31, 2012 @ 16:18:46

    I have so many of my mother’s hankies as well as other family members from way back. Thanks for letting me see some of your mothers.

    Like

    Reply

  15. Deb
    May 31, 2012 @ 07:49:34

    These are so pretty Marianne and back in style looking at the patterns and colours, also love the crochet edges, so lovely 🙂 you are very lucky to still have them, they are inspirational. Take care sweetie

    Bee happy x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

