My Soul’s Garden

Some years ago, friends, I entered an art show.  The theme included using a cigar box or boxes.  A friend gave me the box, and I knew exactly what I wanted to make ~ A secret garden, if you will, featuring one of my love prayers and dialogues.

The door design was a Moroccan inspiration.  I drew the design onto the wood, and hand carved it.  Then I stained the door, and roughed the edges a bit to age it.  I found a screw-on picture hanger that worked perfectly for the door’s handle.

Both sides of the box were covered with some stones that I stained by hand to match the door.  I glued them on, then cemented around them.  These represent a wall.

Shall we enter?

As we enter in, we see the love prayer nailed to the door.  I hand wrote the prayer, then stained the paper, wet the edges and rolled them to age it.

The prayer is read as we enter in.

I used some fabric and netting that I had purchased at a garage sale once.  I knew they would come in handy one day.  The orchid represents the flower of faith. I made it out of porcelain, and my former ceramics professor was kind enough to lend me the clay and fire it for me.

Behind the beaded veil are the five ‘weeds’ of doubt…worry, fear, unbelief, hopelessness, and trials – written in gold on a round mirror.  The shot gun shell has a twofold representation…the violent emotion we put ourselves through with our doubts, as well as representing how faith can come from ‘violent’ effort.

Behind the shear side curtains there are garden images of statues and a garden pillar and ball, with some ivy growing along side.   I don’t remember anymore the many hours of hard work put into preparation and creating this piece, but I do remember enjoying every minute..except for when I had some trouble getting the door on.  That took some ingenuity and patience.

I hope you enjoyed your visit into my garden.  I’m glad you came by to visit me here on Leisure Lane.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brenda
    May 17, 2012 @ 18:03:20

    Oh, Marianne, I can remember when you created this beautiful piece. The thought that you put into it and all the hard work, the anticipation of entering … and even being at the show with you was such a pleasure to me. To watch you create is a masterpiece in its self!! I am so glad that you are sharing it here. It is such a fabulous piece of art.
    Love and hugs,
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      May 17, 2012 @ 18:40:24

      OH, that’s right…you were there with me at the show. I’m glad you remember that. I suppose I was a little nervous and it’s a bit of a blur to me. But now I do remember walking around with you and looking at the different pieces. Thanks for the memory, friend.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Marianne
    May 17, 2012 @ 01:13:40

    Thank you for the handwriting compliment, Jenn…I owe it all to Catholic school…COL…seriously though, even when I switched over to public school in 9th grade the kids there asked if I had gone to Catholic school because of my handwriting. It was an actual subject and taken very seriously.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Jenn
    May 16, 2012 @ 22:59:22

    That’s quite a work of art and treasure you have there. I love the paper with the poem on it. Nice handwriting! (Speaking of which, my latest post involves handwriting …. mine is absolutely horrible. But I’m working on it especially since having read the book I posted about! Smiling!)

    I did a santa in a box one year for a friend – wrapping it up for her (I think I posted about it). So, I especially enjoyed seeing your box. My friend ended up keeping it ‘as is’. I had Christmas lights in it and everything. It was tedious at times but worth it – I know what you mean!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Yesteryear Embroideries
    May 16, 2012 @ 15:43:34

    What can I say but wow! It is a beautiful piece, but then to read the prayer and the story that goes with it all…………….just wonderful! You are such a creative and expressive soul! You should do more of these!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Cora Eelman
    May 16, 2012 @ 15:02:36

    This is just so beautiful! Everything about it has so much meaning and depth. I loved the prayer on the door. It is just so true that we try so hard to build more faith, thinking it will outweigh the doubts. Thank you so much for sharing this. And thank you for visiting my blog today and leaving a comment! It brought me over here, and I’m so glad I came! I’ll be catching up on past posts!
    http://www.hiddenrichessecretplaces.blogspot.com/

    Like

    Reply

  6. Vicki Thompson
    May 14, 2012 @ 17:19:24

    Hi, Marianne, my friend,
    I enjoyed your post so much today. Your garden of faith was just beautiful, and your poem really spoke to my heart, thank you! I also enjoyed reading your Mother’s Day tribute to your sweet mother. I am glad you were able to leave work early and enjoy your special day. Your son gave you such a thoughtful gift! Sending love to you~ Vicki

    Like

    Reply

  7. lynne
    May 14, 2012 @ 13:47:43

    Hello
    I am in awe that you handcarved the box lid, remarkable.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

    Reply

  8. Kerrie Marquart
    May 14, 2012 @ 02:05:32

    I love this! It is beautiful!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

