A Pleasureable Peek at Cottage & Creek

Good day, friends…

Most of you may have noticed here on Leisure Lane this month that I’ve been featuring some wonderful bloggers.  It’s my way of getting out of myself for a while, and showing my gratitude for the kind reception I’ve received here in blogland.  So without further ado, I’d like to continue with a pleasurable peek at…

Cottage and CreekCottage and Creek

Lynn, the creator and author of Cottage and Creek, is an amazing woman.  I think the photo above represents much of what she writes about…her cottage on the creek, and all of its charm and her passions.  There are so many wonderful facets to her, that I almost didn’t know where to begin.

Her cottage has given her a chance to show herself and others the ‘stuff’ she is made of.  Lynn sees with the special eyes of spirit which allow her to envision something more beautiful than what is physically before her.  She  loves to give something old and worn new life, and the work that might be involved doesn’t hamper her grit and determination to accomplish the task.  Whether it’s changing…

               Cottage and Creek    this…

Cottage and Creek 2into this

OR

            Cottage and Creek 3 this…

Cottage and Creek 4into this

There is always something exciting Lynn is tending to, as she enthusiastically frequents estate sales and thrift stores looking for that special something that catches her creative eye.  And many of the vintage items she finds, such as…

Cottage and Creek 5  beautiful fabrics

Cottage and Creek 8

Cottage and Creek 7

lovely linens and household items

Cottage and Creek 6nostalgic aprons and more…

either find a home in her cottage or in her etsy shop, Estate of Mind.  And if you are a collector of vintage clothing check out her esty shop, Dress Your Drawers, where you will discover some fascinating items from skirts and blouses, to purses and shoes, and other delightful apparel.

Cottage and Creek 9Oh, and what a crafty, crafty girl.

Her sewing and decorating, is just a part of an intricate recipe that makes her house a home, and one in which she invites us to come in and visit through her blog.   Her love of family, friends, baking, sharing, and most importantly God, helps her to create an atmosphere of intimacy and friendship which will encourage your return again and again.

Lynn is a strong and determined woman (I could easily see her as the heroine in a novel in charge of  successfully bringing a wagon train safely to its destination ~ seriously).  And yet, there is a sweet vulnerability to her which she trustingly shares in her writing.

I always look forward to visiting Cottage and Creek.  If  you would like to know more about Lynn, her life, collections, vintage goods, and renovations, then I invite you take a tour of her site, and say “hello”.  It could be a start of a beautiful friendship.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

Above photos are courtesy of Cottage and Creek.  All rights are reserved by said blog, and are reproduced here for the sole purpose of this article.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 16:36:03

    Oh what a lovely home and sweet name for it too! she has many lovely fabrics, beautiful apron and pretty linens and household items too! i just love the transformations of the walkway/landing and the shelves, she’s so creative and an inspiration!

    love,
    susan

    Like

    Reply

  2. Brenda
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 15:57:22

    I dearly LOVE Lynn at Cottage and Creek. She is one talented lady and has such a sweet heart with determination to boot. I am always in AWE at her creative nature. You are also a sweetheart, Marianne, to take this time to feature others. YOU have such a way of making it so interesting that you want to go look these bloggers up and enjoy what they are offering. YOU are a GEM!!
    I love how you referred to Lynn as a heroine. I really think so, too!
    Hugs,
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

  3. Deb
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 10:27:28

    Thanks for sharing 🙂 hope your week is going great sweetie

    Bee happy x
    Have a delicious day!

    Like

    Reply

  4. G S Lortscher
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 01:09:39

    I agree, I really enjoy Cottage and Creek. Lynn is most definitely very talented. http://www.themidwestfarmersdaughter.blogspot.com

    Like

    Reply

  5. Marianne
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 01:00:23

    I don’t think I could have described you better, dear Lynn…bravery isn’t really the ingredient to a heroine’s life, but rather all the things you just said…I rest my case.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 00:20:13

    You are such a dear one, Marianne! Thanks for such a lovely feature. I chuckled out loud (as you’re so fond of doing too!) at your portrayal of me as a heroine in a novel. COL!! I’m really not very brave, just determined to stand for what is good and right and not let fear shape my life, but rather my faith in our wonderful God. He enables me to stand strong when often I want to cower and hide. But no! He is my strength and my song. Bless you for this kindness. I’m humbled at your sweet words. Thank you. I’ll post this on my Facebook page. How delightful. The perfect ending to a lovely day.
    xo,
    Lynn

    Like

    Reply

  7. marmeladegypsy
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 23:48:54

    What a lovely blog! Thank you so much for stopping by The Marmelade Gypsy. I can see we share many things in common!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

