A Mermaid’s Tear

Good day, friends…

The following is a poem I wrote as an exercise.  It was inspired by the smooth colored glass that is found washed up on the shore, often called Mermaids’ tears.  Enjoy…

A Mermaid’s Tear

 O look, within the water’s brine,
A jewel-like treasure colored fine.
What can it be, O what, alas?
Certainly, not plain old glass.

 But lo! Perhaps a mermaid’s tear
Dropped on the shore in some past year.
I see her now, in my mind’s eye;
I see her waiting by and by.

 She waded in the shallow long
While she sang her lover’s song.
Perhaps he came, or maybe not.
Perhaps aloneness was her lot.

 So in her song did long appear
The bluest remnant of a tear.
I shall not think of the sad lass,
Lest I should cry o’er smooth’ed glass.

copyright©2008 Marianne Coyne

Thank you for visiting Leisure Lane.  Until next time, may happy days abound.

Marianne

The above image is an oil painting by John Waterhouse.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Yesteryear Embroideries
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 22:32:55

    Such lovely words………….do you have a book of your poems?……..you should, they are wonderful! blessings,Kathleen

    Like

    Reply

  2. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 12:48:24

    I’ll never look at colored glass the same again! Your poetic words are enchanting, Marianne. And the painting is lovely. What a beautiful pairing. I’m glad you share with us. I see a poetry book in your future …
    xo,
    Lynn

    Like

    Reply

  3. Brenda
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 17:27:21

    That beautiful painting looks like it could easily be yours! By YOUR art, I can tell who your favorite artists are….
    Lovely, lovely poem. But makes ya feel sort of sad for her….

    Love you! And keep those beautiful poems comin!!!
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

  4. Susan
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 09:19:43

    what a sad but beautiful poem you wrote, my dear friend! i never thought of this til i read your post about the smooth colored glass that i sometimes find washed up on shore that it could be called mermaids tears! beautiful! love the painting to describe a mermaid too, you’re so talented! i love all the words in the poem! sending you love and hugs and wishing you a blessed day!

    love,
    susan

    Like

    Reply

  5. Kerrie
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 02:05:25

    I love this, beautiful! I collect the bits and pieces that waves and sand have smoothed the edges of rainbows in the sand….See, you inspire me!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Kimberly
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 23:48:19

    Is there no end to your talent? I collect mermaid paintings, etc. Would love it if you would make me something with that poem on it to hang on my wall.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

