Sing Me A Lullaby

Good day, friends….Welcome to Leisure Lane…

As you know, this blog mainly features my art and writing.  One night, when I found it difficult to fall asleep, I asked for heavenly assistance.  The following poem is what came out.  I immediately got up to write it down.  I have mated it with a sketch that I had intended to make into a painting, but alas, one of many sketches I never found the time to paint…yet.

I can imagine this sung in a middle eastern melody, but I’m not a musician…col…so it is better left to one with a flare for such things.

On many nights I still ‘sing’ this poem within myself to aid in a peaceful rest.  I hope it speaks to you .

Sing Me A Lullaby

Sing me a lullaby, Yeshua.
Sing me and lull me to sleep.
Sing me a lullaby, Yeshua,
With your voice gentle and deep.

 Take me on a love journey
Through heaven’s gardens delight.
Hum me a mystical melody
That I may rest all the night.

 Guide me through subconscious visions
Where tempest or harmony reign.
Aid me in travels less peril,
Through one night in tranquil domain.

 And when I awake on the morrow,
As you linger still lovingly near,
Rousing me from quiet slumber,
May your voice be the first sound I hear.

Marianne Coyne

copyright©2009 Marianne Coyne

 

Thank you for visiting Leisure Lane.  Stop by again, and if you are so inclined, leave a comment.  Your thoughts always add a dose of cheer to my day.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne ♥

Above sketch by Marianne Coyne ©2004.  Click on image for larger viewing.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Yesteryear Embroideries
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 16:39:50

    Just precious! You are certainly gifted! blessings,Kathleen

    Like

    Reply

  2. Jenn
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 00:47:28

    I can just about hear a melody for your poem. It is beautiful. And a beautiful sketch too. How nice it is to be able to associate the talents God’s given us – a word with a sketch, or photo or melody, and so forth.

    And, as you say – your stopping by on my blog and lending a dose of perhaps encouragement or deeper thoughts – is a blessing. Thanks! Jenn

    Like

    Reply

  3. Marianne
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 16:46:50

    It brings me a joy of purpose to know that my writing and artwork speaks to someone on an intimate level within their life. It is truly my hope when I share them.

    MarIanne ♥

    Like

    Reply

  4. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 15:11:15

    I’m so glad you posted your beautiful poem and sketch, Marianne. Both are gems and exude comfort and the intimacy of the Master’s love. I hope you were able to enjoy much rest and peace during your days off. I’m seeking God’s peace and contentment in each day, despite circumstances that nibble away (and sometimes chomp!) at my peace of mind. Ah, to be tangibly nestled next to the Lord, as your sketch depicts! I will carry that image and thought with me through this dreary, rainy day.
    xo,
    Lynn

    Like

    Reply

  5. Susan
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 07:58:12

    Oh what a beautiful drawing you made, Marianne! so beautiful and captured the lullaby you wrote too! and i love that you play around with the drawing in different effects, beautiful words and yes it’s a great way to sing it when you cant sleep!
    you’re so creative and talented!

    love,
    susan

    Like

    Reply

  6. Marianne
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 22:46:24

    Thank you, Brenda…I played a bit with the sketch photo…the last one is in sepia and also the embossing setting. Interesting, yes?

    Like

    Reply

  7. Brenda
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 18:56:13

    Oh, Marianne, I remember this drawing so well. To some extent it is a same that you have no time to actually paint this beautiful setting, but then again the black and white seems to bring tranquility to my being, along with tears for some reason. It’s like you can feel His soothing touch…
    I don’t think it matters so much that you haven’t painted it, but only that you drew it, for it sends a deep message of comfort and how He cares and loves.
    Such a sweet, sweet song and goes so well with the art.
    I love the last photo! At first I could not tell what it was, but then the vision formed and I was so surprised and thought HOW CLEVER you are.
    Beautiful, Marianne!!
    Love you,
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

