Rolly-Poly Zen

Good day, friends, and welcome to Leisure Lane…

Where I live we don’t have much of an autumn as far as color goes.  Most of the trees here are Pine, Live Oak, or Palm…and except for the occasional group of Chinese Tallow trees offering their autumny goodness, most of the surrounding areas are perpetually green.

But on occasion one will come across a sweet breath of color, like this lone young tree bursting with beaming celebration of the season.

Isn’t she worthy of Ideal Magazine? (does anyone remember that delightful magazine?)  Well, I think she is.  Yesterday was a cold, clear day when I took this photo while on a walk.  I just couldn’t resist its charm.

Here’s another tree making the effort to show her true colors, too.

Today while walking I was encouraging myself in my Life’s path.  I realized, however, that my tone began to sound a bit angry, or at least emphatic.  I asked myself who I was angry with.  I knew the answer for the most part…I suppose I still harbor some annoyance with the world for lying to me all of my life; trying to get me to believe something different than the truth about myself and for instilling fear, and perhaps I still harbor an annoyance at myself for believing it which prevented me from freely showing my true colors and vibrancy.

But then I glanced down at the sidewalk and saw a little rolly-poly making his way through the day.  “Now that rolly-poly isn’t angry, he just IS,” I said to myself.  “Oh, to just BE!” and when I said those words my arms became totally relaxed hanging by my side, and the feeling was awesome!  I could feel my muscles relax and give way to the idea of IS-ness – and for the moment, total surrender.

Though we are blessed creatures with a higher consciousness, I wonder to myself why we spend so much of that consciousness in blame, guilt, anger, resentment, and fear.  Why we don’t reach for the heights we were meant to rise to, and to linger there, not only for a moment, or a day, or a week…but for everyday, all the day.

A bottom line of “Trust in God!” was told to me in a dream recently.  So today I was singing the quote in a little song…

Trust in God, trust in God
That’s what Angels say…

Trust in God, trust in God
All along the way…

You will be more healthy
If you do it every day…

Trust in God, trust in God
All along the way.

It may seem a bit child-like, but isn’t it child-likeness that Jesus referenced when teaching us to seek the Kingdom?  The little rolly-poly lives in all of his child-likeness…he IS in the Kingdom moving along with purpose accomplishing his purpose.

It took the Zen of a little rolly-poly to bring me back to a state of Godness…the state where surrender feels like relaxed muscles, and trust in God is a state of being worth opening to and remaining in.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 04:22:39

    I love those kinds of moments – the ones where we break through – and especially over simple events, including roly-polys – aren’t those also pill bugs?
    Some of the trees in our area suffered so much from the drought that they looked dead before “fall” hit – and now they look beautiful. I’m not sure if it’s truly fall or not with those trees. We’ve had great rain, dew, fog and almost oodles of moisture – so happy to get it. So, maybe it’s refreshed them in their fall state? We may not rank up there w/New England’s falls but even one tree turning is beautiful to me.
    I’m trying to get used to following comments – but I keep forgetting that. Oh well . . Maybe I’ll remember this time!
    Take care! Jenn

    Like

    Reply

  2. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 17:20:21

    I’m looking at a similar blue sky today, Marianne, but there’s snow on the rooftops and the air is cold. Our roly-polys are snug in their winter’s nest. But how I enjoyed your lesson on resting in God and just “be-ing”. I had a similar lesson Wednesday night after I got home from surgery. Most often, He does just want us to fall into His strong arms in complete submission to all things, whether pleasant or not. Your little poem is chock full of wisdom. Thanks for sharing it with us.
    Blessings to you!
    Lynn

    Like

    Reply

  3. Yesteryear Embroideries
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 20:39:26

    Yes, it is a beautiful tree for Idea……….I remember the magazine well. Loved your words………..so uplifting! blessings, Kathleen

    Like

    Reply

  4. Brenda
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 19:14:12

    Marianne, what beautiful pictures you have! The sky is so blue and it makes the color of the little tree POP! Thank God you are still shown the way even through the most smallest, and unlikely source. It’s AWESOME to see GOD in EVERYTHING! It is wonderful that He can talk to us through these simple means. God is Good!
    The little song is sure a blessing.
    And so are you!
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

  5. Marianne
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 15:47:05

    Yes, as the Psalmist says repeatedly, “Why are you disquieted my soul? Hope in the Lord.”

    Thank you for your loving comments….and the children’s song is beautiful.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Yvette
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 10:17:29

    Such a beautiful clear blue sky, what a backdrop for your leisurely walk and reflective time. Joyful blessings my friend x

    Like

    Reply

  7. Susan
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 08:09:11

    Beautiful autumny color trees you saw, Marianne! i too love the color of those trees and there’s beauty in each season, it shows in the colors! amazing how a roly poly could make one feel and realize that God is Fair and Good and show us the way, to feel at peace again and again. I too experience what you experience and still am sometimes but grateful that we’re still be shown the way to realize. your poem is truly an inspiration, it reminds me of a beautiful song from Oscar Haris called Song for the children “Follow me, follow me
    It’s a beautiful day (Sing a song for the children),Trust in me, lean on me
    Life is true, bright and gay”…

    Blessings,
    Susan

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

