Next Best Thing To Mom

Hello friends,

I’m writing this post a few days earlier because I want to get it down while it’s all still fresh in my spirit.  I was feeling rather nostalgic about my mom this afternoon (Monday).  Laying on the couch resting…not really napping, but eyes shut…I can hear the sound of the school buses bringing the children home.  This time of day and year is rich with memories

In my mind’s eye I am back home safe with my mother, nestled against her breast with her arms wrapped around me.   I open my eyes slightly.  The sun glistens its finale through the trees casting dancing shadows and white glimmers against the wall and on the rug.  Oh, this time of day is bitter/sweet.  Smiling, yet yearning at the same time, I realize I’m still just that little girl who longs for her mother’s embrace.

Perhaps I feel this so profoundly these last few years because my own son is grown, and my role as mother-the embracing mother, the make it better mother- has come to an end.  Perhaps that has awakened the child within me.  Could you guess that “letting go” is a journey for me?   By the way, my son will be 22 years young tomorrow (actually Nov. 29th).

I arose from the couch, and went into the kitchen where I noticed that the last of my apples were getting slightly soft, so I decided to make my mother’s apple crisp.  It’s wonderfully yummy.

Most people put oatmeal in the topping.  But my mother’s recipe is more like a sugar cookie – crisp on the outside, soft underneath over extra cinnamon-y apples.  Doesn’t it look scrumptious?

I follow the recipe she so lovingly typed out for me all those years ago on a real old fashioned typewriter (My mother’s house is filled with vintage).

It’s like she’s still guiding me through the process.  I love these cards she typed.  As you can see it’s been used quite often.  I sometimes wonder where all those stains come from – am I really such a messy cook?

Here’s the backside of the recipe card.

Time to dig in!

Here’s a cute story I’ll always remember about the apple crisp.  When my sister, Denise, and I were younger, but old enough to prepare food, we concocted up a scheme.  Our parents were going out one evening, so she and I decided that we would make up a batch of the apple crisp topping and have it all to ourselves…COL…

So as soon as my parents drove down the driveway, we got out all the ingredients and whipped some up.  Then ate it raw! That’s right, we didn’t even cook it…just got a couple of spoons and enjoyed.  Oh, it was so good!  I laugh now just thinking of that happy sister memory.   (Now-a-days I wouldn’t suggest you eat it raw unless you use pasteurized eggs, or eggs from your own hens).

I’d like to share the recipe with you, and perhaps you can make some fond memories with it, too.

Apple Crisp

Half fill a pan or glass baking dish with sliced apples (3 lbs.).  Top with cinnamon.

Mix:
1 cup sugar
1 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder

Add:  1 unbeaten egg

Add:  3/4 of a stick of melted butter or smart balance.  Mix gently until it forms a dough.  Take small portions of the dough and with your hands mash flat pieces and place over the apples in sections until all the dough is used, and all the apples are covered.

Bake at 375 degrees F.  25-30 minutes, or until crisp topping is browned nicely and apples are cooked.

Enjoy!  Thank you for visiting me here on Leisure Lane, and until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 19:41:52

    Seasons of change? They’re tough. But a blessing in their own way too.
    I have recipe cards that are way messier than that and I absolutely love them. I ended up redoing many of the cards but returning to the messy ones. They have the memories! The crisp sounds yummy! (I made it out to visit, yeah!)

    Like

    Reply

  2. Liz
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 11:32:03

    Awe! I also attach memories to food. This is a sweet post. 🙂 The apple crisp looks yummy!

    ~Liz

    Like

    Reply

  3. Yvette
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 20:20:49

    Marianne, what a wonderful recipe and the ingredients not only on paper but in your heart. That’s why it tastes so good…I love these recipes, and should do more in my ‘handwritten recipes’ section of my blog…I have so many.
    Beautiful memories of your mum,. I too made apple pies last night and hope to feature them on my blog…I have a fun new gadget for the kitchen…amazingly so much fun! xx

    Like

    Reply

  4. Susan
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 21:33:39

    What a beautiful memories! you make me feel so homesick now that i’m starting to think about my mum in Indonesia! though i call her almost every weekend but still hearing her voice is different from touching her and especially tasting her homemade meals! and that apply crisp of your mother recipe that you made looks soo delicious! what a beautiful story of you and your sister too! so precious and again i can relate to you also! i wish me and all my siblings and especially my dad are still together, back when we were younger, waiting for mum’s cooking and helping her in the kitchen (well make a mess rathern than helping) waiting for my dad to come home from work, aaahhh those memories! Thank you for sharing your beautiful and precious memories, it brought tears to my eyes!! thank you also for sharing the recipe, I loveee the typewritten recipe ur mum made, it’s soo vintage and i love it! it makes me want to hunt an old typewriter and do the same!

    Love,
    Susan

    Like

    Reply

  5. Marianne
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 19:57:03

    LOl…if you decide to eat it raw just make sure you use pasteurized eggs, or at least get them from your own hens.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Brenda
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 19:26:44

    Ah, Marianne, what a wonderful feeling to be wrapped in your mother’s arms! It always made everything better. Your memories of your mother are making me miss my own. I’ll have to give her a call.
    I love the memory of you and your sister. I can just see the two of you secretly smiling like nothing is going on, when, I’m sure, it really looked like something WAS going on! LOL! I think of my own two granddaughters plotting their way through, having their own little secrets. It just brings big smiles to my face.
    LOVE the recipe! I’ll have to try it. And thank you for sharing it. I think I’m like you and Denise….just eat the topping raw! YUM!
    Love you dearly,
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

