Autumn Still

Hello friends,

Usually after Thanksgiving (and sometimes before) everyone is in a rush for Christmas.  I love Christmas, too, but it’s still autumn, and I’d like to slowly take it in and savor every moment.  So today I’d like to share two things I created.

The first is the basket full of faux autumn leaves I made many years ago.  It’s been tucked away for quite a few years.  But this year I decided to grace my table with it again.  I think it truly captures the aura of fall – especially on the pretty pashmina I recently purchased.

I’d also like to share a song I wrote about autumn.  I’m not a musician so I usually forget the melody with which I originally wrote the words.  But I like the message nevertheless, and perhaps one day I’ll just put another melody to it, or I’ll recollect the original.

Autumn…A Wonderful Time Of Year

 Autumn is a wonderful time of year…
When the air turns crisp and cool,
And yellow buses head off to school
Autumn is a wonderful time of year.

 Autumn is a wonderful time of year…
When the leaves turn gold and red,
And it’s early off to bed
Autumn is a wonderful time of year.

 Apple crisp is baking,
Children busy raking…piles of leaves to jump in
Hip Hooray!

 Pumpkins at the front door,
Hot cider from the town store…with cinnamon to warm
On a chilly day.

 Autumn is a wonderful time of year…
When Jack Frost comes to call
In an early morning Fall.
Autumn is a wonderful time of year.

 Autumn is a wonderful time of year…
When the sun is earlier rising,
And a brisk walk is enticing
Autumn is a wonderful time of year.

 Father watching football,
Children playing tackle…Mother baking pies
For company.

 Autumn please don’t hurry,
Please linger, don’t you scurry…so quickly this time
Away from me.

 Autumn is a wonderful time of year…
When our hearts are set aglow,
With giving thanks for those we know.
Autumn is a wonderful time of year.

 Autumn is a wonderful time of year…
When learning 1 + 1 is 2,
And that I’m happy I have you

Autumn is a wonderful time~~~~

Autumn is a wonderful time~~~~

Autumn is a wonderful time of year~~~

Thank you for strolling by Leisure Lane.  I am joining Pink Saturday with our host, Beverly, from How Sweet the Sound.  Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

The above song, “Autumn…A Wonderful Time of Year” is a copyright©2008 Marianne Coyne

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shirls Rose Cottage
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 02:36:49

    Hello, Thank you so much for stopping by. Happy Pink Saturday. Love your post this week! Hugs, Shirl
    Shirls Rose Cottage

    Like

    Reply

  2. Sue
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 19:27:18

    I am with you…..let’s savor Autum for just awhile longer before getting into Christmas. Lovely centerpiece and song. Thanks for stopping by CITexas Gal!!! Happy Fall and Pink Saturday.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Kathryn Ross
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 18:43:53

    Hi Mariann! What a lovely table centerpiece – made with love by your hands, I’m sure. And, your song was filled with the imagery of the season! Yes, the Autumn-scape is lovely and I look forward to decking the halls with it each September – and then decking for Christmas on Black Friday – let everyone else push and shove for the sales. I’ll get what I need by and by. Holiday preparation in my home are my priority. Glad you liked my sneak peak – and glad you’re enjoying my Thanksgiving Story Series.
    Joy!
    Kathy

    Like

    Reply

  4. Jenn
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 18:04:38

    Well, I had to stop by a second time. I travel pinks based on the last digit of my own link (43) and here I am again! I would’ve been by anyway! 🙂 Thanks again, Jenn

    Like

    Reply

  5. Ms Burrito
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 17:40:31

    Simply delightful!

    Pink Accessories, have a fun Saturday!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Jenn
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 17:13:09

    Happy Pink Saturday! Thanks for stopping by. (Another WordPress blog, yay!) Love your basket of fall leaves and the pashmina. And, I agree with your thoughts on not rushing fall. I was pondering that myself the other day. Seems we’re so ready to jump from one holiday to the next . . . what happened to moving passionately and deliberately? Your song is wonderful and from its cadence, I drew a melody in reading it. Enjoyed my visit! Thanks, Jenn

    Like

    Reply

  7. Annie/Helen Hartman
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 13:23:04

    What a lovely and heart warming sentiment. The table is gorgeous. So happy to visit your blog this Pink Saturday!

    Like

    Reply

  8. Shirley
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 13:07:56

    The Autumn basket is beautiful..and the song also! Your blog is so nice!

    Like

    Reply

  9. LaVoice
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 12:43:29

    World wants to rush things these days. I am like you, let us enjoy one day at a time.

    Like

    Reply

  10. Susan
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 10:38:50

    Beautiful faux autumn leaves that you created, Marianne! you should share on how to make them! what a lovely pashmina too, the two goes perfectly together! the lyric you made is soo fun and i love the words! i spy a cute bird on the side and a lovely photo too!

    I too haven’t started on my christmas decorations yet as i dont have the time right now but hopefully soon! Have a lovely weekend, Marianne

    love,
    Susan

    Like

    Reply

  11. Ms Burrito
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 05:50:31

    Very pretty!!

    Barbie and Ken, please come and see. Have a great weekend.

    Like

    Reply

  12. Sandi
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 01:06:54

    Happy Pink Saturday, Marianne! Your centerpiece is perfect for this time of year. Wishing you a lovely weekend.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Like

    Reply

  13. Kerrie
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 23:36:29

    I love your table and your beautiful song! Hugs, K

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

