Pretty Find

Hello Friends,

I’m very happy you came by to visit today.  Thursday I went to my local resale shop where I found a very pretty crocheted ‘clutch’.  I love to crochet, so I was impressed to find this sweet item.  To think of all the work that went into making it, and the little price tag read $1.99.

I like the filet crochet pattern.  It’s attached on the sides to form a pocket, and the flap folds over and is fastened with a pearlized button.  It can be used for holding just about anything from stockings to scarves.

    I decided to keep my mother’s vintage hanky and some of her scarves in it.  Maybe I’ll add a few more things of hers. A perfect memento holder.  It’s in beautiful condition, as you can see.  I’ll just give it a hand washing and dry it flat, and it will be ready to use.

 

I just love this hanky.  It’s so cheery with its blues and reds, pinks, and green.  And the red edging frames it in such a lovely way, don’t you agree?  And I remember it in my mother’s drawer from when I was a little girl.

I’m joining Pink Saturday with our host Beverly at How Sweet The Sound AND Mosaic Monday with our host Mary at Little Red House.

Speaking of Pink Saturday, you may remember Elizabeth from My Sweet Prairie Home.  Elizabeth was asking for fabric donations to make pillow cases for the residents in a local home.  Since I didn’t have enough fabric suitable for pillow cases I promised that for the month of October I would donate half of my profits from the October sales of my book, The Christmas Pin Society.  Well I am grateful to say that 5 books sold.  Since my profits aren’t all that much, I’ve decided to donate ALL of my profits, and I’ll add an additional $5.  I’m happy to say Elizabeth will be receiving $10.90.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 15:10:51

    No, I did not see this post. (Just coming from your May 30th post on hankies). I love that little crocheted clutch. There are so many moments when I wish I could crochet and do beautiful items like that. I can’t believe the flower you have alongside the hankie. You always do such wonderful photos – very lovingly artistic, which reaches out and grabs the heart or mind – and I love that. Thanks! Sorry I missed this post previously. Great post!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Susan
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 09:12:32

    awwww lovely finds, Marianne! the hankies is soo perfect with the flower, what a treasure from your mother and the crochet clutch is just beautiful, i love how you capture them with the flower too.

    love,
    susan

    Like

    Reply

  3. LisaKay Balazs
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 09:25:41

    Happy Pink Saturday (belated)! I love the purse! I have always wanted to learn how to crotchet, but have never taken the time. Some day I do plan to. I loved your post and what a wonderful way to store your keepsakes.
    Hugs, LisaKay

    Like

    Reply

  4. Kandy
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 20:44:15

    I am late getting to my Pink Saturday…adventures..there’s just something about topping your week-end off with lovely PINK eye candy…and getting to know you through your blogs…God Bless and have a great week!
    Kandy
    Thank you again for your generosity!!!!!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Yesteryear Embroideries
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 19:10:30

    Hi Marianne, I just found your comment on my blog and wanted to stop by to say hello! I just love your cheery blog! I love finding beautiful crocheted pieces in flea markets! blessings,Kathleen

    Like

    Reply

  6. Brenda
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 14:49:05

    I just stopped back in again today just to see if you had posted anything for Mosaic Monday. But enjoyed visiting your blog anyway. I love to see all of your beautiful creations!!
    Love ya,
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

  7. Beyond Zephyr
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 13:56:30

    Beautiful pink flower, with a matching hanky!

    Like

    Reply

  8. Eileen
    Nov 06, 2011 @ 23:10:15

    What a lovely find! It is a perfect memento holder. Thanks so much for stopping by. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  9. Ms Burrito
    Nov 05, 2011 @ 19:31:06

    So beautiful!

    Pink hat, have a great weekend!

    Like

    Reply

  10. Kerrie Marquart
    Nov 05, 2011 @ 18:32:32

    I do so love the lovely clutch! Adorable. I love vintage hankies, too! Great blog!

    Like

    Reply

  11. Linda
    Nov 05, 2011 @ 15:43:03

    Hello Marianne, Happy Pink Saturday. I love your post, my mother had hankies like that also. Linda

    Like

    Reply

  12. Marianne
    Nov 05, 2011 @ 00:17:34

    Thank you, dear friends, for your sweet comments. Meeting and communing with such wonderful ladies is what makes blogging the best.

    Like

    Reply

  13. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Nov 05, 2011 @ 00:11:42

    What a beautiful clutch you found, Marianne. I’m so happy it found a new home. And how perfect it is for your mom’s lovely hankie. Both pieces are just charming and so feminine. I know your mom would be so proud of you and your many talents. I’m sure it’s difficult to miss her, yet knowing she’s not the woman you remember because of the demise is the body. But she will be free one day and what a reunion you’ll have! I long for that day, as I’m sure you do too. Blessings to you and may you be richly rewarded for your generous spirit.
    Lynn xo.

    Like

    Reply

  14. Brenda
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 20:30:16

    Very lovely how the flower you posted matches your mothers hanky….I do love the framing around it. I remember my grandmother had some very beautiful hankies and I believe that my mother still has them to this day. Maybe one day they will be passed to me. The little ‘clutch’ is wonderful! Someone put in some great time to come up with this lovely piece. And how nice that now you have something special to hold your mother’s things. Congratulations on the book sales and I’m sure that My Sweet Prairie Home will appreciate it very much.
    God Bless YOU, Marianne and Here’s to your health!
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

