Eat Thy Bread With Joy

Welcome to Leisure Lane, friends…

Yesterday I got busy doing some things I don’t get to do often, but would like to do more…I baked some bread!  Admittedly the flour and grains were already mixed, and all I had to do was to mix the yeast, cut a bit of Smart Balance into the dry mix, knead, and let it raise.  It rises twice, once in the bowl and then again in the bread pan.

Hodgson Mill made it easy.  Doesn’t it look good?  I toasted it this morning with some tea.  It certainly is a hearty bread and good.

Though I will admit that I would like to make it all from scratch again very soon.  There really isn’t anything like homemade bread.

In the evening I made a delicious Mexican stew.  It’s this week’s recipe at work and I wanted to try it.  Wow! It turned out wonderful.  My son and his dad rolled theirs in tortillas, but I ate mine in a bowl over a bit of brown rice and a sprinkle of shredded cheddar on top.  Perfect for an Autumn night.

Thank you for stopping by.  Take your time and stroll around the Lane, and until next time, may happy days abound.

Don’t forget to check out this post: Helping People Help People

Wishing you all the best,

Marianne

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 11:35:24

    oooh nothing beats homemade bread, i love it when it’s fresh out of the oven, the smell of it filled the kitchen , heaven! the loaf you made looks wonderful! the mexican stew sounds yummy too! Blessings, Susan

    Like

    Reply

  2. Yvette
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 19:52:24

    That loaf of bread looks wonderful, and the aroma of freshly baking bread in your oven must of been a delight.
    Have a glorious week end!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Brenda
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 18:44:02

    Ahhh, I can just smell this wonderful bread now. It looks like it baked up really nice and to have it with a cup of tea is even more delightful. Hodgson Mill, uh….I’ll have to see if it’s in my store. I wish that you could have included a picture of your wonderful stew! I bet it was awesome!
    Here’s to your health!
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

