Hello Old Friend

Happy Autumn, friends…

Welcome to Leisure Lane.  Sip your tea or coffee while you settle into Autumn with a song about my favorite season.  Some of my ‘poems’ are songs, but since you can’t here the melody, you’re welcome to make up one of your own or simply read it like a poem.  Which ever way you read it, I hope you enjoy it, and it makes you smile.  I’ll be posting more through the autumn because, well, “I’ve gotta million of ’em”. (COL)

Hello, Old Friend 
(an Autumn song)

Hello, old friend, you’re here again.
My heart is warm with cheer.
The leaves are turning, my heart is burning
With love for this time of year.

 Cool breezes chill the air,
Apple crisp baked with care;
Cider is warming, hay rides are charming;
Pumpkins at the fair.

 Hello, old friend, you’re here again.
Let me light a fire;
Find a book, sit in a nook,
And pass away the hour.

 Old town clocks together chime,
Telling us the hour’s time;
Sound more clear when you are here,
Like a child’s rhyme.

 Hello, Autumn, my old friend.
I’m so glad you’re here again.
Please tarry long, where you belong,
Let my heart be your domain.

copyright©2008 Marianne Coyne

Your welcome to stroll along the Lane, relax and enjoy.  If you’d like to visit by leaving a comment, I’m sure to get back to you.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

The above image is the original oil painting, “Sheltering Oak” by Marianne Coyne.

Helping People Help People

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mum of all trades
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 19:52:09

    That just captures how I feel about Autumn, beautifully. You are a very talented lady!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Susan
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 11:35:40

    oooh what a beautiful painting you made, marianne! lovely poem too, it reminds me of a song from cat steven’s morning has broken or songs from simon and garfunkle, i mean i dont know why while im reading your poem, the melody that comes into my head is the tune out of the songs from those two singers 🙂 just beautiful, serene and really really touching my heart! you’re so creative and talented as always, Marianne!

    Blessings,
    Susan

    Like

    Reply

  3. Yvette
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 02:52:36

    Hi Marianne, Your melody of Autumn can be heard from here. What a delightful poem and painting, just love the colours. I’m happy to say Spring has finally arrived here, and the garden blooms are delightful. Hopefully I capture some photo’s soon. Hopefully your book arrives soon…I look forward to it! HAve a wonderful weekend x

    Like

    Reply

  4. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 00:33:19

    Your poem is charming, Marianne. Fall is in full swing here and I enjoyed your fitting words/song as I remembered the beautiful sunrise I saw this morning on my way to work. Oh, and you don’t have to sand with the Annie Sloan chalk paint. I have some because I won a give away. It’s kinda pricey at about $34/quart but it really goes far. I did two pretty good size pieces of furniture and I still have some left. And you can water it down to stretch it even further. It comes in lots of pretty colors. I don’t know what shipping would be. Loved my visit to Leisure Lane tonight and now it’s off to dreamland. Stay well.
    xo … Lynn

    Like

    Reply

  5. Brenda
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 17:13:42

    Your beautiful Autumn painting and the delightful song/poem excites my heart for this time of year. I love the cooler weather and the beautiful fall colors. I wish we had those beautiful colors here in the south, I am happy to just have the cooler weather!! Thank you for sharing your beautiful talents with us.
    God bless you,
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

