Doodle Archives

Welcome to Leisure Lane, friends…

Today I’d like to share some designs which I was reminded to dig out after reading Yvette’s post from Yvett’es Twistedvines.  These designs are from a series I worked on back in the mid-late ’90s.  They were inspired by a kind of doodling I did in my senior year of high school and followed me into college where I would doodle in some classes.  Needless to say I didn’t finish my degree back then…Ha,ha…

This one was done in the earlier years – 1971…my senior year of high school.

1997

The outside design shapes were done using a ruler, then without planning, I would fill it in freehand.   It was always exciting to see to see what would present itself on the paper.  (My apologies for the photo quality – it’s not a very sunny day and I don’t know much about photography, especially digital cameras).

1997

Though the none of the lines were preplanned, they were drawn with purpose, and, I think, contain a certain strength.  Though there are some certain aspects which may be repeated in a design, they always hold a completely different perspective within the particular piece.

 1997

As you can see, you never know where a ‘doodle’ will take you, but it’s always fun finding out.  I took up this form of doodling again about a year ago.  This time around I added other components.  The result is fun and intriguing.  I look forward to showing you the new versions another time.

Well, I hope you enjoyed these…thanks to Yvette for reviving the idea…I can’t wait to work on some more.

May joy and peace follow you today, and until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

Note:  All designs shown here are copyrighted by Marianne Coyne

Revising for: M O S A I C   M O N D A Y

I’m entering this post for Mosaic Monday, hosted by Mary from Little Red House…stop by and join the fun!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thelittleleaf
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 22:44:46

    These are beautiful doodles, love the geometric shapes – your lines are so straight! Very intricate & you have made me feel like doodling! 😀

    Like

    Reply

  2. Susan
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 11:42:14

    very intricate doodles! it goes to show how talented and creative you are! i love the beautiful flowers/leaves doodles you made, and i’m in awed on how you created those beautiful shapes! lovely!

    love,
    Susan

    Like

    Reply

  3. Lorrie
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 15:39:33

    Interesting doodles! They must have been fun to do.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 13:43:13

    Very cool designs, Marianne. My son did what he called “line drawings” for his senior thesis. Yours are more angular while his were more curvy, if that makes sense. Thanks for sharing – you’re one talented gal! Have a wonderful day 🙂
    Lynn

    Like

    Reply

  5. Joy
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 03:38:56

    Hi Marianne, Love your doodles! You could really call them art – very purposeful in design. My senior year was 1971, too. My doodles were certainly not like this! Mostly balloon words, or our school mascot – the Braves. Anyway, I love your mosaic. Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting on our dear grandson! He’s so special – will be blogging about his sister tomorrow. Had to give equal time!
    Oh, the song at the beginning is Classical Gas by Mason Williams. It was popular when we were in High School. Visit me again, anytime! Glad to have met you.
    XoXo
    Joy @ tomorrow’s memories

    Like

    Reply

  6. QMM
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 21:00:21

    Great work. My art teacher and I have been doing those. That art is called Zentangle now, I guess because it is very calming to do and definitely a tangle.
    QMM

    Like

    Reply

  7. Kim,USA
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 19:44:08

    Beautiful art!

    Fall Colors

    Like

    Reply

  8. Emily@TheFrenchHutch
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 15:06:32

    hi Marianne, I think your doodles are more art than doodle, your a very creative girl. You should see my HS doodles, nothing like this………..Arne’t you glad you saved them? I’m so happy to meet you……..

    ~Emily
    The French Hutch

    Like

    Reply

  9. Terri
    Oct 07, 2011 @ 22:17:10

    Hello Marianne, these are wonderful! I have always wished I could doodle like this, but all I can do are flowers and squigglies : )
    Your art here is totally amazing!
    Hugs,
    Terri

    Like

    Reply

  10. Yvette
    Oct 07, 2011 @ 20:53:22

    Wow, I heART these,!So happy you found them tucked away in your archives of college year memories. I’m continuing to have fun, and experimenting more and more with this form of art.. Lovely designs. Have a great weekend! x

    Like

    Reply

  11. Brenda
    Oct 07, 2011 @ 16:09:05

    I LOVE the Doodles!! How fun this looks! I am amazed that within each of these drawings (doodles) you were able to maintain such straight lines. My favorite one is the one with all the curves. Reminds me of beautiful flowers and leaves. BEAUTIFUL! Thank you for sharing them!
    Here’s to your health!
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

