Mommies Make It Better

Good day, Friends,

I believe this naughty cold is packing its bags.  I’m feeling much better today, and I’d like to thank all of you for your kind wishes.

The other evening when I was feeling all stuffy, achy, and generally not so good, I texted my sister, Denise, with a “iiingh… mommy…”   And though I meant to add some humor to the situation, in a way that’s how I really felt..I wanted my mommy, even at this ripe age.

My sister understood because, though our dear mother’s been in a home for a quite a few years now, we both miss the way she used to be very much.  The first thing she would say when I had a cold was ‘keep gargling with salt water, dear”, and remembering that in my less than perky situation,  I also couldn’t help but remember her tender loving care throughout the years.

Denise texted me back with this lovely comment that I’d like to share with you now.  I thought her sentiment was perfectly put.

“There is never one so compassionate for us all  – as our mommy.
There is never one..who never rolls her eyes when we call, or show up at her door – as our mother”Denise Palermo

For those of you who still have your mothers, embrace the slight faults with the good…because one day you’ll only remember the good, and you’ll wish she was there with you again, even with her slight faults.

Thank you for visiting Leisure Lane…and until next time may happy AND HEALTHY days abound!

Marianne ☺

Image above is a detail from the “Get Well” painting from The Knittington Fairies series by Marianne Coyne

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jil
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 20:09:49

    My Mom was my bestest friend in the whole world….when she passed fourteen years ago it was one of the hardest things I have ever dealt with. To know I would never feel her soft touch was brutal. Her hands always brought so much comfort and joy…she was a gifted professional artist and interior designer. I have a picture of her in almost every room so she is always with me….I feel her presence often…in a beautiful sunset that I know she did just for me, the finding of my scissors when i have looked everywhere for what seems hours….so many things.

    I hope you feel better….
    Jil

    Like

    Reply

  2. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 01:30:07

    Ah, good words, Marianne. It’s so easy to get frustrated with those we love the most especially when they are “different” than they used to be. As they age and change, they need our love and compassion all the more! I cannot imagine how difficult this must be for you girls as you no longer have your mom in the state you always knew her to be. My dad is heading down the Alzheimer’s route, I’m afraid, and it’s so hard to watch and adjust to. Grief comes in many different forms, even while one still lives. Glad you’re feeling better and I pray you feel God’s tender arms around you as He stands in for your dear momma.
    xo … Lynn

    Like

    Reply

  3. Miss Kathy
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 21:52:57

    Oh, Marianne – this brought tears to my eyes. That is not difficult today since I had a good cry-fest this afternoon about this very thing. Thinking about my mom and how foolish I was in my young adult days when all I wanted to do was break away. If only I understood what I understand now. All this brought on by my own 23 year old precious daughter feeling stuck and wanting to spread her wings – and it is just not God’s time. He is working patience in her and, as with me so long ago, she struggles in the way. She has the Lord, though, and I pray her wings be strong in the breaking out from her chrysalis. Am I rambling? Just feeling a little like my mom must have felt back then. So thankful for my girl – she’s making chicken parm tonight for us. And held me so dear after I cried.

    My mom’s with the Lord these past seven years. So much missed . . .

    Her advice for your sniffles? A hot toddy – and milk of magnesia. Ha!

    Joy to you!
    Kathy

    Like

    Reply

  4. Susan
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 20:33:49

    ooooh you’re soo like me!! i always always do that when im sick..being so far away from my mother doesnt help so hubby always said i’m terrible when i got sick, i miss my mom terribly and i know what she would do when i’m sick, not only she would take good care of me, the fuss she made somehow comforted me, whereas it’s just different when my husband fussed me when im sick or try to tuck me in and rub my back trying to be like my mother hahaha i always told him what my mom would do when i got sick and he copied it but it’s just different! i’m sooo glad you’re feeling much better Marianne and yes i agree to what your dear sister said …100%!!! xx susan

    Like

    Reply

  5. Brenda
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 19:49:09

    Aw, I understand wanting and needing your mother when you’re feeling bad!! Just to see her sweet smile and her tender touch as she feels your head and how she’s so encouraging about getting better. What a wonderful thing to say about your mother. What Denise has said rings true for all our mothers. I hoped you remembered to gargle and I am glad that you are feeling better. I hate it when you feel bad! Thank you for sharing this!!
    God bless,
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

