Giving Vintage Linens and Things a Second Chance

Hello friends, and welcome to Leisure Lane…

Are you looking to give new life back to your antique crochet, knits, linens, blankets, and quilts?  My blogger friend, Terri, from Artful Affirmations was interested in brightening up a lovely antique fabric product she recently bought in England.   So I told her about a product that I had heard about a few years back when I belonged to a knitting/crochet circle at a local quilt shop.  And I thought perhaps there might be more of you interested in this product, as many of you collect vintage pretties.

I’ve never used the product personally, but I personally saw its results on a beautiful, yet yellowed stained old yarn woven and embroidered baby blanket.  It was made by the mother of a co-knitter in the group, but never finished.  She was in the process of finishing the blanket as she wanted to pass it on to her grandchildren.  She was using new yarn and she wanted to clean and brighten the rest of the the blanket.  Of course being packed away for so long it had developed those unwanted yellow spots.

The quilt shop employee suggested Vintage Textile Soak as the perfect remedy, so she bought it and tried it on the blanket.  At our next meeting she brought the blanket in with sparkling results!  It was brightened and cleaned, and the delicate embroidered flowers on the blanket were still beautifully preserved.

I couldn’t remember the name of the product, so I called the quilt shop (which most recently closed their locale in my area – whaaaaanh!), and they were kind enough to give me the name of the product and information of where to locate it.

If you are interested in giving your textiles new life ask your local quilt or fabric shops for Vintage Textile Soak.  If  you prefer going online you can find it at Star Spangled Sampler at  http://www.vintagetextilesoak.com/soak.html  If you are interested in Americana country decorating you can visit their home page at http://www.vintagetextilesoak.com.  

I hope this helps you.  You can also google reviews about the product.  Happy soaking!  And until next time, may happy days abound.

Marianne☺

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terri
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 01:19:09

    Thank you so much for the information Marianne. I still have not found it, but I will follow your link. I think my tea cozy would look so much better brightened up.
    Hugs,
    Terri

    Like

    Reply

  2. Yvette
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 01:10:27

    Hi Marianne, sounds as if it could work wonders..thanks for the links. All my linens are packed away at the moment so they’ll be getting a little TLC when I can get to them! Have a great day.x

    Like

    Reply

  3. Susan
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 20:03:25

    what a marvelous idea and great info, marianne, i had a look at the links, loving the americana country style, thanks for sharing this and thank you for your lovely comment too, it brighten up my spirit and i’m ready again to find more ideas and my granny blanket is finishing soon too! though i’m not really liking the result but i’m proud of it coz i didn’t stop half way! will blog it soon ! thank you again and have a blessed day!

    x susan

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

