Happy Birthday, Mommy

Good day, friends…

There is something wonderful about a mother who loves big…something that stays with you forever.  And nothing – nothing can separate you from that love; not sickness, poverty, riches, sadness, joy, miles, loss of memory, or even death.  It’s a love that endures beyond time and space, and lives very deeply in the heart of the soul.

Today is my mother’s birthday (she’s 89), and I would like to remember her with a poem I wrote about her in 2007 (O, my has it been that long?) when her memory degeneration reached a stage which prevented normal communication.

Mother, I Miss You

She’ll always be in her forties to me;
A spring in her step,
Hair still dark – not much gray,
Eyes bright and cheery,
Singing while she folds the clothes,
Making us a memory of baked chicken and warm apple crisp.
Mother, I miss you.

 She’ll always be in her fifties to me;
A spring still in her step,
“Where is everyone?” I hear her call;
She loved her family around,
“There you are, Marianne,” she smiles,
“Shall we have a cup of tea, dear?
Mother, I miss you.

She’ll always be in her sixties to me;
A spring still in her step,
Sharing motherhood advice,
Always having the answer I need,
Squelching my fears with encouraging words,
Shooting hoops with little Robert in the living room – “Your turn gram-ma!”
Mother, I miss you.

She’ll always be in her seventies to me;
A spring still in her step,
Running around the house with her grandson,
Making us her famous tapioca pudding,
Laughing, dancing, enjoying life,
Shall we have a cup of tea, dear?”
Mother, I miss you.

She’ll always be in her eighties to me;
A spring no more in her step,
Asking the same question minutes apart,
Worrying she can’t remember things,
Trying to make sense of what’s happening around her,
But still knowing what love is  – “I love you, dear,” she says.
Mother, I miss you, and yet…

She’ll always be in her forties to me;
A spring in her step,
Hair still dark – not much gray,
Eyes bright and cheery,
Singing while she folds the clothes,
She gave me such wonderful memories.

      Mother, I love you, too…eternally.

Copyright©2007Marianne Coyne

Happy Birthday, mommy.  I can still hear your voice when I’d answer the phone, “Hi, Marianne, it’s mother.”  ☺  I love you and miss you beyond words.  God bless  you.

Marianne

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lance Greenfield
    Jul 29, 2015 @ 19:52:42

    That’s so good Marianne. I will show it to Joy, my wife. Her Mum died four years ago. She declined with dementia through her final years. It is awful to observe, and you are right to remember your Mum in her heyday.

    But there must have been some incidents during her decline that made you laugh. Remember them too.

    You may also like my little poem, Flutter Away, which I wrote for my [blogging and writing] friend Mello Elo when her Mum passed away. She used to call her Mum her little bird. Hence the inspiration for my poem. And seeing that cloud and sun combination on the morning of Mello’s Mum’s funeral was just too much for me. I am a very emotional man, and I cried!

    Look also at my first ever poem, “Ted”, that I sent to my Mum in a letter from boarding school when I was seven.

    I don’t see any way to “like” your posts. I’d like to “like!”

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Jul 29, 2015 @ 20:08:31

      Thank you,Lance. I will definitely check out your recommendations. As sensitive people, we do need to learn discrimination to keep healthy, but it is sensitive people who create beauty in this world..so more power to us! 😉

      I have disabled ‘likes’ at the moment, but will probably reinstate it soon. Thank you for your input. I’m so happy I met you.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Lance Greenfield
        Jul 29, 2015 @ 20:12:36

        I am very happy to meet you too Marianne. I’ll take more of a look around your blog, and I hope that you enjoy mine too. I’ve only been blogging since December, and lots of people are very complimentary about the variety that I post. The primary objective of my blog is to promote “Eleven Miles.” Take a look and re-blog, promote, and do whatever you like with it. I am so passionate about my debut novel and the charity that it supports.

        Like

  2. mary
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 01:54:09

    What a sweet and precious poem remembering your mom. Mother’s are certainly a blessing and the older I get the more I realize how blessed I was to have such a caring mom.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Brenda
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 18:17:11

    The first time I read this poem, it made me cry. And just now as I was reading caused the same effect. We love our mothers so! Such a lovely poem! Happy Birthday to your mother! She is in my prayers today and well as you. I know you can’t see your mother because of the distance, but I am sure that you are still very close in her heart.
    Love you,
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

  4. Molly
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 16:39:11

    I love the photo of your Mother Marianne, and your beautiful poem – I’m sure your mother would be delighted to be remembered with such joy. My thoughts are with you on this day, her birthday – as you say, nothing can separate you x

    Like

    Reply

  5. Sandi
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 16:35:52

    Hi Marianne,
    Your poem is very touching and I’m sorry you lost her. I’m glad you have so many lovely memories of her. That’s a blessing!
    Speaking of poems, you had asked me if you could share a tea poem in your post for Tea Time. I would welcome a nice poem! So, by all means, share with us what is on your heart. Thank you for your participation in my tea party. It’s lovely to have you.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Like

    Reply

  6. Susan
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 06:42:46

    your poem for you mother makes me cry! so beautiful, can feel the love in every words you wrote for her, that what unconditional love is all about from a mother to her children, to you…she will always love you and you to her, Happy Birthday to your beautiful mother, love her photo so much! in fact i was just on the phone with my mother yesterday, i tend to call her a few times a week through skype coz it’s cheap and i miss her so much! Blessings to your mother and you. xx susan

    Like

    Reply

  7. Kathryn Ross
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 01:50:16

    Oh, so lovely poem, Marianne. I miss my mom, too. Blessing on you as you remember such a precious gift from God as Mother.
    Joy!
    Miss Kathy

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

