Teacup Tuesday: Roses and Teacups

Happy Teacup Tuesday, friends…

Welcome to Leisure Lane today, where I’m joining Teacup Tuesday, hosted by Terri, at Artful Affirmations, and Martha, at Martha’s Favorites.  Be sure to stop by their blogs to see more beautiful teacups and more!

The grocery store was having a sale on rose bunches, so I bought one.  Ten beautiful pink roses that were so fragrant that they made my soul smile.  I took one of them and put it into a smaller vase to have with my breakfast.

I used a tea cup from a very nice set of 4 my brother and his former wife gave to me for Christmas one year.  I almost forgot about them tucked away in the back of the cabinet.  I decided that it would be fun to use one of them – like having a brand new cup.

The cups are all designed with Norman Rockwell paintings.  This one is called “Dreams in the Antique Shop”.  On the back is the story of the painting.

All the cups have gold trim around the rims and handles.  I like the shape because, though it’s as tall as a mug, it still has the refined, delicate shape of a cup, and they’re not heavy.

Here are the rest of them..”Puppy Love”, “Braving the Storm”, and “The Country Doctor”.  I think my favorite is “Dreams in the Antique Shop”.  Which one do you like the best?

A funny little story about these…One day, not long after receiving them, I decided to quickly heat up the contents in the microwave…wow, sparks did fly!  I knew not to put metal in the microwave, but I forgot about the gold trimming.  I very rarely use the microwave now-a-days for other reasons.

I’m also joining Sandi, at Rose Chintz Cottage, for Tea Time Tuesday.  Stop by and say ‘hello’.

I’ll soon be adding two new delightful items to My Little Bloomin’ Shop, so stay tuned for that.

Thank you for visiting.  I hope you all have a pleasing Tuesday, and until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandi
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 22:58:24

    Hello Marianne,
    Your cups are very special not only because they were a gift but also because of the Rockwell paintings on them; very charming! I love your pretty pink roses and your collage is gorgeous. Thank you for sharing this with Tea Time and have a delightful week.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Like

    Reply

  2. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 00:36:11

    Lovely teacups, Marianne. And the pink roses are gorgeous. I can see why you bought them. The color is so pretty. Funny about the sparks in the microwave. I don’t use mine much either except to thaw bagels (which I shouldn’t be eating since I need to get in shape too!!).
    Always … Lynn

    Like

    Reply

  3. La
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 23:42:36

    Hi Marianne.

    I like this fantastic set of cups. I’ve been known to dream in an antique shop a time or two.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Susan Reaney
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 23:08:54

    This is such a beautiful set. I am new to this world of tea cups and am really broadening my views of what is included as a tea cup. I have always loved Norman Rockwell. Though I know he is from the east coast, he has always felt like a Midwesterner to me!
    I would love to have you visit, if you have time!
    Fondly, Suz
    http://katsuijewelry.blogspot.com

    Like

    Reply

  5. mercedes scott
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 20:24:17

    Thanks for sharing your lovely cups! My fave is the same as yours – the antique shop… I’m glad you remembered them and dug them out of storage so that you can now enjoy! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  6. mercedes scott
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 20:22:59

    Marianne, your cups are lovely! I think my favorite is the same as yours… the antique shoppe. Isn’t it wonderful when we pull out items we’ve stored, forgotten for a while? Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply

  7. Snap
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 16:35:46

    What a fun set! I’m a big Rockwell fan. The mosaic is lovely. Beautiful roses! Happy Tea Day!

    Like

    Reply

  8. Brenda
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 14:08:42

    What a lovely set! The roses are so delicate looking and you can almost smell them by the perfect shots you made. You are getting to be quite a wonderful photographer! And the tea looks soothing….Dreaming in the Antique Store is my favorite also and what a perfect way to display them.
    Enjoy this wonderful day,
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

  9. Susan
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 13:57:41

    Dear Marianne, I recieved your package today, I love them! i keep touching the pot holders, so soft and beautiful and it’s my fave color too! thank you so much! I love your pink rose, beautiful! and i adore your “dreams in the antique shop” teacup, what a beautiful design but all of four of them are beautiful, so vintage! the puppy love is cute! i look forward to see what you’re adding to your shop!

    Thank you again for the gifts, Have a beautiful tea time tuesday! xx Susan

    Like

    Reply

  10. Johanna
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 08:09:27

    Hello Marianne,
    those are very nice tea cups. And sure “Dreaming in the Antique store” is just perfect for us tea cup lovers. Thank you for sharing.
    Best greetings, Johanna

    Like

    Reply

  11. Micupoftea
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 03:19:32

    WHat lovely roses! A pretty addition to your breakfast table 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  12. Kathryn Ross
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 03:17:18

    Well, Marianne – I must agree – the Antique Shop mug is my favorite, too. I think I had a set of Rockwell mugs many years ago. Must have gotten rid of it in a downsizing campaign during one of my many military moves in the years of my Navy wife life. Quite at home, now, and no longer roaming the country and losing sweet tea things to yard sales. Lovely roses – and that collage at the outset of the post is stunning!!!!! Love the design!
    Joy!
    Miss Kathy

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

