Breakfast At Stiffany’s

Good day, friends…

Here on Leisure Lane, I’ve decided to get into shape…you know the routine, more exercise, eating better, yada yada… I’ve noticed that, though I’m in pretty good shape as far as weight goes, I’m loosing a lot of muscle mass, and probably bone mass too, if truth be known.  I love to walk,and was doing well with that during the winter,  but since the spring rolled in with the 98 degree weather and high humidity, well that’s just too hot for me to walk in.  So I finally found an exercise that I could commit to, and one which would strengthen my muscles throughout my body, especially my abs and legs…The hula!

I love to dance, and hate to exercise, so these workouts were perfect.  Using hula steps as the workout I’ve been able to commit every day to these exciting videos..I found them on youtube completely by accident.  They’re called Island Girl workouts and the teacher, Kili, is wonderful. I love the music (just Hawaiian drums and chant), and the atmosphere of the videos.  She’s very easy to follow, and the exercises do start you out slow and steady.

To make a long story short, I’ve been doing them for about a month now, and was doing really well, until recently, where for some unknown reason I strained my lower back.  I never have back problems so this was a real surprise to me.  I suppose I’ve over done it in some way.  It seems every inch of me is stiff.  Though I was doing them every day for about a month, I stopped for about a week because of time restraints, and then started them back up…that’s when the problem arose.

So I suppose it’s time to retreat a bit, rest the muscles and start again, this time taking some of the movements more slowly.  Walking seemed to keep my back loose, but since I haven’t been walking I guess I’m just not as loose as I was. Of course it couldn’t be from a combination of standing on my feet all day at work for 8 hour days and lugging big heavy, I’ll-go-where-I-feel-like rolling demo carts.  Oh, no because that would be complaining about the job I’m suppose to be so grateful for having.  It’s sort of like being grateful for a husband who beats you…at least you have a husband…I don’ know.

Interesting thing is that my friend, Brenda, also joined the “Y” in her efforts to be in better health, and she strained her back, too!  LOL  We’re a mess right now, but it’ll get better. Maybe we’re trying too hard to make up for lost time. I think for me, I seem to be ‘fighting’ the flow.  I’m in a state of resistance, spiritually speaking, and I think that may be the cause of my sudden physical responses.  I’ve been at this job longer than I care to be, when I’d much rather be doing what I was born to do…write, paint, create, create, create.  I’ve tried to keep a good attitude about the whole thing, but the environment is extremely harsh, and my former supervisor left deep marks on everyone she came in contact with before she finally moved on.  And I’m just TIRED.  God keeps putting three words in front of me continuously…Expect The Best, and I’m making that effort – I really am.

I know, I have a lot of fruit spread on my Ezekiel toast, but that was the last of it, and so not to place a basically empty jar back into the refrigerator, I used it all this morning.  It’s sweetened with fruit concentrate – don’t judge!

I’m craving a more relaxed, peace centered, holistic life, and this present  job just doesn’t allow for that, which is why I’ve decided to take steps to love myself more, and do things which echo that sentiment, even if they’re small steps.  It’s not always easy, since my time in-between the chaos is disproportionate to the time in the chaos.  And only by God’s grace will I come out of it in one piece, or One peace.

I’m not giving up…I’m still going to exercise, but I think I’ll wait a bit longer for my strain to recover, and I’ll still eat as healthfully as I can, I’ll still speak out good things for my life and the lives of others, and I’ll still pray, love, and breathe…most of all Breathe!

Well, thank you for listening to my rambling today.  Until next time, may happy days abound.

Marianne ☺

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marianne
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 01:57:12

    Thank you all for your encouraging comments and prayers…I treasure each and every one of you. I, too, wish for all my friends, near and far much success, joy, prosperity, and good health. You are all amazing woman…and as Lynn expressed, this is one big, wonderful sisterhood we women are…Let us love each other with the biggest hearts, and the Love of God.

    xo

    Like

    Reply

  2. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 00:46:46

    Oh, and one more thing … my mom has your same dishes! I love them! LOL! What a big, wonderful sisterhood we women all are. So fun! Be blessed, my friend.
    Lynn

    Like

    Reply

  3. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 00:44:13

    Sorry to hear about your back and your disturbing job, Marianne. I continue to be amazed at our awesome God and the ways in which He works in our lives. I hope He moves you out of the job and into something that makes your heart sing. I love Brenda’s last thought – I think I’m in training for something God has for me, something I would never voluntarily choose, but like Brenda said, it’s not about me but about Him. I will be praying your back feels better and that you sense His leading regarding employment. I’m seeking His will in this area too.
    xo … Lynn

    Like

    Reply

  4. Brenda
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 14:16:13

    I found out that it’s very important to STRETCH before exercising! I know for me, I haven’t been doing that on a regular basis…..so let’s start there and maybe add in some Yoga moves. This should loosen us up some…I was told that I need to tone my body before I do the strenuous stuff…..walking (inside, in place if we can’t go outside because of the heat), stationary bike and/or stepper. The Y has some real cool looking machines, so I will turn to those for a while.
    I, too, am sorry that you are still so unhappy with your job! We just continue to pray for God’s best and find something good everyday in what we are already doing. I am sure that if we look for it, we will find it and see God moving in our lives to where we can be thankful. As Susan says, keep praying, loving, and breathing and most of all you know you won’t give up!! Those are precious commodities!!
    You are a beautiful woman, Marianne, and you have a lot to offer. Someone once told me that God usually doesn’t begin with “me”. So the question was never, “What is my dream?” God always begins with “Him”. So the question becomes, “What is His dream?” Sometimes God has us in training for the dream He has for us in order to take us where He wants us. Does that make sense?
    Well, anyway, YOUR TOAST LOOKS DELICIOUS!!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Marianne
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 13:22:14

    Thank you, Susan…you know, I think I hurt my back also because I’m becoming “stiff” metaphysically…that is that everything is so rushed at work that my time outside of work is still spent with rushing around – for work…It’s a vicious cycle which I find my self trying to resist, but hopefully, by grace, I can overcome it.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Susan
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 09:10:59

    Oh Dear, I’m so sorry to hear that you strained your lower back and brenda too! i guess it would be wise to take a rest and take it easy with the hula dance till your lower back is healed, Marianne! i watched the video, i must say i’m interested as well as i also dont like exercising but i do love dancing, i used to do belly dancing at home too but stopped coz i just lost the mood, the hula seems to be abit similar when i see the movement and lots of bending knees but it’s sexy. I’m also sorry that you have been stressed out and that you’re feeling unhappy with your job, i can understand how you feel! i wish i could help but i guess that’s how life is, full of obstacles and trials for us, but i have faith in you because you keep praying, loving and breathing and most of all you know that you wont give up! and i do love putting lots of jam in my toasts too! but your ezekiel toast looks yummy!!! Blessings, Susan

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

