Butterfly x 2 = Fun

Hello Friends,

Now that you’re familiar with how Poetry Schometry came about, I’d like to share with you two fun shmoems which came out of this.  What my friend and I noticed during this time was that many poetry orgs. prefer the poems NOT to rhyme ~ geez, that just takes all the fun and challenge out of it.  Anyway, I’m glad it all happened because I wrote many good poems from it all.

Also, to add a little more fun to the mix be sure to read the bottom for details on a give~away.

Butterflies are grand, don’t you think?  I saw one flying and had to express it more than once.  ENJOY!!

                       Butterfly                       

 Flighty, airy, breezy; colorful and shapely.
How sweet to be as free; flitting, flirting.
Come alit on my finger, I invite.  But you
won’t; too busy for such nonsense.
Soft, fragile, bedazzled; I love flowers, too.
O, to be able to fly like that precious butterfly.
(Oops, I rhymed – deal with it)

copyright©2009 Marianne Coyne

Butterfly Jive

 Sweet flyin’, flower sighin’;
flittin’ through a meadow; this ain’t no ghetto.
You live upscale. 

 Fast pumpin’, wings jumpin’;
high and low; you ain’t no slow-joe.
You the bug.

 Light as a feather; sunny weather;
colorful rags; very arty; lookin’ for that nectar party.
You’re a cool-cat.

 Wanderin’ fellow; truly mellow;
Wish I could fly like that butterfly.
You got class.

copyright©2009 Marianne Coyne

I hope you found these fun…now for a little more fun let’s have a GIVE-AWAY!  All you have to do to enter is comment on your favorite Butterfly schmoem.  Make sure your email address is available so I can get in touch with you when you win.

I’m so excited to give-away this pretty, 100% cotton hand knitted potholder set.  The small ones are a lot of fun because they can be used for coasters, for holding hot bowls in the palm of your hand (you know, while your eating your soup or oatmeal in front of the television), and they are especially perfect for hot pot handles because they fit in your hand without hanging too far over the edges to catch a flame.

The bigger one has a pretty heart in the center with a pearl-colored button.  I love to make these, and the pattern is perfect for a novice knitter such as myself.

I’ll be announcing the winner on June 30th – Good Luck!  Until next time, may happy days abound.

Marianne

The above butterfly image is from an original watercolor by Marianne Coyne.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diann @ The Thrifty Groove
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 14:00:39

    I think butterfly Jive is my favorite! So cute! Thanks for the chance to in this beautiful giveaway!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 15:41:42

    Your blog always makes me smile, Marianne. I love Butterfly Jive! I love both schmoems and think they’re very clever. I couldn’t agree with you more about how rhyming a poem is half the fun and challenge. I’m a novice knitter too. Actually have only done a couple of scarves but my daughter has learned to make potholders and, like you, she loves keeping her hands busy while watching TV or relaxing. I love how you cite that the little one is perfect for holding soup in your hands while you watch TV! LOL! I do that ALL the time!! And burn my hands! Great post and thanks for the smile today.
    Hugs … Lynn

    Like

    Reply

  3. Susan
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 07:02:06

    oooooohhhh both butterfly schmoems are soo lovely, hard to choose, the first one “Butterfly” is lovely and the 2nd one “Butterfly Jive” is so FUN! i guess i have to choose one eh? hehehe hmm…well the words “how sweet to be as free..” caught my eyes first, maybe that’s how i feel? or jealousy of the pretty butterfly who could fly like that? hehehe so I’ll choose the 1st one!! Good luck to me, coz i do loveee your knitted pot holders, the colors are soo cuteee!! you’re so talented Marianne! xx Susan

    Like

    Reply

  4. Brenda
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 20:55:50

    I do remember the exercises we use to do. AND I do remember this particular one!! We laughed a lot!!! I think mine was a little more on the serious side. I still have copies of all of them. We should do it again sometime. i can’t believe 2 years have gone by since we first took on doing the exercises. WOW!
    Love your creations!! (I miss crocheting….got to find time….)
    All my best to the winner!
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

