Poetry Schmoetry

Poetry Schmoetry was born out of an “Um-I don’t get it” moment during which my friend, Brenda and I were submitting poems to a local on-line poetry emagazine.  We noticed that all the winners seemed to be the cryptic, nonsensical, mishmash “poems’ which were very hard to read…choppy in wording, not really going anywhere, and, well, left one thinking “Huh?”

So, I suppose looking back on it, to quiet our egos, I suggested that we could write stuff just as cryptic and mishmashy…I called it poetry schmoetry.  But actually, to our surprise, some really good stuff came out of it, and to make matters even funnier, Brenda sent in one of hers just to see what would happen, and it was picked as a monthly winner.  LOL…we had a laugh over that.  I’m giving you the Reader’s Digest version, but you get the picture.

Here’s the poem which started it all…I hope it brings you a little humor.

Poetry Schmoetry

 What’s in a name?  That which they call poetry?
By any other name is more like jive, free-form laziness;
hesitant and choppy with no attention to punctuation,
rhythm, or the English language in general.
How does one know where one thought ends and the
other begins?  Where’s the point of it?  The reader’s
not drawn in, but dragged around from the top of the
page to the bottom, and left with a “Huh?”
Hmm…maybe emails are to blame, and
Twitters, or whatever they’re calling these pseudo
communications of the day.  So talk to the hand,
‘cause the ears just don’t ‘get it.

copyright©2009 Marianne Coyne

Thank you for stopping by Leisure Lane.  Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

The above image is a detail from the Kare and Mare comic strip series by Marianne Coyne.

Note:  No insult intended to emailing, twittering, or any other new fangled form of communcation until otherwise stated.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 01:16:39

    I’m so with you on this, Marianne (and Brenda!). I have often thought the same thing … I don’t get it! I read some of the “poetry” that gets published and it’s so random and pointless that I think there must be something wrong with me because I’m left cold after a tiresome read. Great post and love the drawing too. Give me rhyme and reason any day – that I understand.
    xo … Lynn

    Like

    Reply

  2. Susan
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 14:05:49

    hahahahaha i love the part “left with a “huh” . sooooo funny! loveee it! you’re both are such talented ladies! it’s true even in my own language, i sometimes dont understand poetry with words that left me wondering and wont even bother to ponder! and i learnt english…i can read but only if the words take meaning and easy to understand, otherwise i wont bother reading too 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  3. Marianne
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 18:17:57

    LOL!!! I’m having a blast, girlfriend!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Brenda
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 16:25:15

    LOL! And no insult intended to other Poetry-Schmoetrians! LOL! The Mare character really goes well with this post! LOL!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

