Rising to a New Dawn

Happy Easter from Leisure Lane

Good day, dear Friends,

If you’ve read my last post, Renewed Mind=Renewed Life, you’ll remember I mentioned writing a poem about the epiphany that each moment can be the beginning of a new day; that every moment is a gift in which we can be born again, and begin life anew.

After I had written the poem, A New Day,  that particular concept was on my mind quite often, and most recently I came across some notes I had then jotted down, which I thought would be very timely to share with you now.

I was thinking about the idea that yesterday is gone; today is NOW.  What good does it do me to look at yesterday when I have all of the possibilities of today.  Yes, our choices of yesterday affect our today, but even now we can change our today by making better choices now.

Consider the thief on the cross.  His yesterday determined his today, but even then, he was able to turn his today around.  Through his introspection he was promised Paradise.  It is a choice.  If Jesus could, he would have promised both thieves Paradise.  But only one made the choice to see and to do that moment differently.  By doing so he created his tomorrow to be more beautiful.

We are taught to believe and to expect that Jesus will do everything for us.  But He can not and will not choose for us.  That is our part of co-creating with the Father.  One of Jesus’ final statements on the cross was, “It is finished (accomplished)”.  Jesus has already done all He was meant to do…it’s our choice whether or not to claim it for our own.  That is an important lesson I’ve been taught by Him, and one which I am still learning to put into practice every moment of every day.

The past can hold some wonderful memories, but it can also taunt us with our mistakes.  I suppose the question is, which thief do we choose to be?  The one who clings to his past, in all its resentment, bitterness, and despair?  Or the one who, even in his hopelessness, was bold enough to imagine that God would remember him. Do we dare, this Easter, to leave the past on the Cross, and, like the thief who made a momentous choice, rise to a new dawn?

I wish all of you a glorious Easter!  And until next time, may happy days abound.

Marianne

Cross images from original polymer clay sculptures, by Marianne Coyne


2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 19:41:48

    I love the beautiful clay sculptures by you and again, lovely words, i certainly learn more from you. Happy Easter.

    Susan

    Like

    Reply

  2. Brenda
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 11:26:01

    The pictures of your crosses, Marianne, are very beautiful. I still have mine hanging on my wall. Thank you for your beautiful thoughts. It has touched my heart greatly. I appreciate this new day…..
    Many blessings to you,
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

