A Bite Out of Life

Good Day, Friends,

It seems today on Leisure Lane the weather took a bite out of Spring.  We’ve been enjoying unusually dry, breezy, sunny days ~ how perfect, how invigorating, and what a difference low humidity can make here in Southeast Texas.  Then today the clouds blew in, and the humidity rose above the hot-flash point.

Oh, how tempted I was to begin grumbling…’Ooo…ick…yuck…”, and generally begin the yearly whining about how hot it feels…BUT!! Ah yes, the ‘but’ that’s only acceptable when turning a negative into a positive… BUT, what a beautiful day, I thought.  How grateful I am for good health, a day off from the job, and an opportunity to allow all sorts of new and exciting opportunities into my Life.

I’m not saying that I enjoy muggy, sticky, weather, but what I am saying is that being willing to see beyond the senses gives one a glimpse into the Kingdom of Life…and that’s what I took a bite out of ~ a bite out of Life.  And O, how sweet it is.

How we begin our day sets the tone for the whole day…but don’t dismay…if you didn’t start it out on the right foot, so to speak, you can always rectify it at this very moment.  Be grateful for even a small thing you can think of today, and really feel the emotion behind it.  Say out loud what it is you’re grateful for, why you’re grateful for it, and notice how your emotions begin to turn toward that positive, life-giving sensation.  You’ll notice a surge of energy, and realize that, you, too, just took a bite out of Life!

Remember, enlightenment is not the end of a journey, but the beginning of one.  Until next time, may happy days abound.

Marianne

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melody
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 01:27:42

    Oh Marianne
    Your post is so great. Dad isn’t fellin too well so Mom is out of sorts and I just feel
    like sigh. Phew, you soo brightened my day

    Like

    Reply

  2. Marianne
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 14:11:18

    And I am also thankful for all of you wonderful friends and followers, who keep me encouraged on the path I should walk…

    Marianne

    Like

    Reply

  3. Brenda
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 13:41:08

    Yea, these hot, muggy days do seem to take the sail out of your boat, doesn’t it! But I am just thankful for another day. I love seeing the sun come up in the mornings and I love smelling the fresh air. I am thankful for all my family and my wonderful friends. And I thank God for His many blessings…

    I love you, my friend. And keep up with those encouraging words. It can only make for a better world.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 13:01:23

    Beautiful words, Marianne! And so very true. Cultivating an attitude of thanksgiving is the key to a successful, peaceful day. I am thankful today that in just one week my Kelly and her new husband are moving back “home” and in with me until they buy a house ~ praise God! I like the things you’re thankful for … stay cool and enjoy your blessings today!
    ~Lynn

    Like

    Reply

  5. Susan
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 14:09:34

    I’m grateful to have found and read this post by you, Marianne! it’s beginning to get warmer and humid eventhough i have opened almost all the windows in my home, such a change from a cool breeze that was perfect yesterday! always love reading your enlightening post! Hugs, Susan

    Like

    Reply

  6. Melanie Bacom
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 11:55:41

    Thank you for the calming words this morning. I needed something to slow me down and put me on “Leisure Lane”.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

