Oregano Tea

Hello dear friends,

I’m leisurely enjoying a pleasant cup of oregano tea.  Just before winter, I purchased an Italian Oregano plant on sale for $1.00.  I couldn’t resist having a fresh plant to enjoy in salads, cooking, and to dry.

Oregano belongs to the mint family, which I never really thought about until I tasted it fresh, and in a tea.  It not only has a wonderful aroma and taste, but has some very healthy benefits.  Oregano contains vitamins and minerals such as  K, A, and C, as well as iron, and more.  It also contains Omega-3 fatty acids.  It has anti-fungal properties, and it fights many forms of bacteria.

On occasion, I enjoy a cup of  the herb tea by brewing about a teaspoon of fresh leaves for about 8 minutes.

The fresh leaves add a wonderful flavor to scrambled eggs, and salads, as well as many other dishes.  And they can be easily dried and put in a glass jar for use in your favorite recipes.  Don’t pass up this plant in your nursery.  It’s sure to please.

Until next time, may happy days abound.

Marianne

Note: If you are pregnant, or have other health issues, do not use Oregano, or any herb as a tea before consulting with your doctor.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Yvette
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 23:24:07

    Love herbal teas, must admit oregano tea I’ve never tried but is essential to my Italian cuisine. Fresh or dry I’m never without this herb in my kitchen! Have a great weekend x

    Like

    Reply

  2. Terri
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 22:18:46

    Oregano tea….I have never heard of this, but your description makes me want to try it! I knew it had health benefits, and I have had a tincture of it before.
    Your tea cup is very pretty and it looks so good sitting there next to your doily in progress (the doily is beautiful!).
    Hugs,
    Terri

    Like

    Reply

  3. Sandi
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 14:31:26

    Hi Marianne,
    I have never heard of oregano tea either but it does sound interesting! I enjoy it in so many things. Your tea post is lovely! Thank you for your visit and have a lovely day.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Like

    Reply

  4. Faith Hope & Cherrytea
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 04:39:55

    so much great info Marianne! thank you!
    and for your visit & chat with me earlier at FHC ~
    every blessing my friend… grace & shalom

    Like

    Reply

  5. Susan
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 02:38:06

    Hi Marianne….Oh my. I never heard of making tea out of oregano. Will have to try to. Thanks a lot for stopping by my blog and commenting. Loved having you! Susan

    Like

    Reply

  6. Marianne
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 23:05:41

    Yes, Susan, I’m almost finished crocheting the doily…I haven’t made one in over 20 years!

    Like

    Reply

  7. Susan
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 21:22:32

    ooh that oregano tea looks interesting, i just might try that once my oregano plant grows!! i do love your teacup, so lovely! did you make the doilies? love the tablecloth ur using too!! hope you’re having a lovely day, Marianne! x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

