Teacup Card Tutorial

Hello friends,

Welcome to Leisure Lane.  I’m going to show you how to make a delightful teacup note card.  They are fun and easy to make, and quite a surprise to the recipient.  Don’t forget to click on images for a closer view.  Okay, let’s get started.

First you will need:

scissors
glue (tacky glue or glue stick)
teacup stencil
blank note card
scrapbook paper
pencil

To start, you’ll need a teacup stencil.  I made mine out of some card stock.  With a pencil, draw a teacup with its rim at the edge of the paper, as shown in the photo.  You will see why the edge is important as we progress.  It doesn’t have to be perfect, so don’t be afraid of your drawing skills. Make sure the measurement of the cup is proportionate to your note card, and deep enough to hold a tea bag.

If it helps to fold the paper in half, that will work, too.  Just remember that the cup will have to fit inside the card, and you will want to have a little room for the teacup handle.

Next, choose the note card you like, and a scrapbook paper pattern and/or colors that best suit the design on the card.  I chose one of my Knittington Fairy note cards and a pretty paisley-design paper.  The invitation to “join me for tea” is warm and friendly.  And I’m in the mood for a little whimsy today.

Place the teacup stencil onto the scrapbook paper where it will give you the design you want on the cup.  With your pencil, trace around the stencil.

Then cut along the traced lines.

Now turn the cup over.  With your pencil, draw a curved line from one tip of the cup rim to the other.  This will give the cup rim a more realistic roundness, as well as giving us a saucer for the cup (waste not ~ want not).

Cut along the pencil line.

Ta ~ Daaa!

The design on my paper had curves which lent themselves well to a teacup handle.  So I cut a handle from one of those curves.  However, if you have a design which doesn’t have a ‘pre-existing’ handle already in the design, you can draw a handle shape with your pencil and cut it out.

At this point, if you wish, using a gold pen or some gold acrylic craft paint, you can add accents around the rim of the cup and saucer, and/or here and there within the design.

Now we’re ready to glue the teacup into our card.

With your glue stick or tacky glue (both work equally well), add glue around the edges of the sides and bottom of the cup.  Make sure you get the edges well, and go at least 1/8″ in, but not too far in because you are going to need room for the tea bag.  Do NOT glue the top rim of the cup.

Place the cup on the inside right page of the card.  As you’re placing the cup be sure to place it slightly to the left so that there is room to put on the handle. 

Also buckle the cup a bit to ’round’ it to form a little pouch for the tea bag.  I usually place the tea bag on the card to guide this step, then pull it out before securing the edges to the page.  Rub your clean finger all along the glued edges of the cup to secure.

Glue the saucer and handle to the cup.

My ‘Join Me For Tea’ card says it all,

but at this point, if you’d like, you can add your own sentiment, or a little poem like the one I have here.  I’ve written the poem on separate paper and cut it out with decorative scissors, and pasted it to the inside left of the card.

Add your tea bag….and…VOILA!!!

Your card will require extra postage for mailing, but it’s well worth it.  The recipient will be absolutely delighted to receive her cup of tea in the mail.

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial.  Please let me know if you did, and if you make one of your own I’d love to see it!  Leave me a comment with a link to your project photo.

Happy crafting, and until next time, may happy days abound.

Marianne

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Dash of Inspiration~Handful of Imagination « Leisure Lane
  2. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 18:39:13

    Your tutorial and teacup are wonderful, Marianne. I have a thing for teacups and all things tea related. Such a cute idea. I think I’ll make one and send it to my mom who’s having a sad time of things these days. Thanks for sharing and for visiting Cottage and Creek. Your comment was so uplifting.
    Blessings,
    Lynn

    Like

    Reply

  3. fitty
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 03:10:41

    thanks for sharing this tutorial. great way to do art & craft with my daughter.. have a great week!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Yvette
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 22:11:07

    Hi, Thanks for calling by my blog. The teacup card is a lovely idea! For any friend this card I’m sure would be a treasured gift. Yvette @ twistedvines x

    Like

    Reply

  5. Bella @ Bella's Rose Cottage
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 21:32:49

    Hi Marianne,
    This is so so cute! Thanks so much for sharing your creativity, great tutorial! Delightful:-))
    Hugs,
    Bella

    Like

    Reply

  6. Terri
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 20:12:29

    Marianne, this is a brilliant tut! What a fab idea to put the cup inside the card with a tea bag. I love it. Your card, front and back, is gorgeous.! Thank you so much for sharing your creative process with us!
    Hugs,
    Terri
    (I hope you signed up for T.T. with this post, it is a good one for it.)

    Like

    Reply

  7. Diann @ The Thrifty Groove
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 20:11:14

    That is so cute! I love it!

    Like

    Reply

  8. Christine
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 18:32:10

    This is really cute! Thanks for the tutorial….Christine

    Like

    Reply

  9. Marianne
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 15:24:13

    Thanks, gals! I’m glad you like it. The card doesn’t take long to make, but the tutorial took about 3 hours! LOL

    Like

    Reply

  10. Susan
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 15:12:49

    Woohoo!! thanks for the tutorial, it’s so clear and precise complete with pictures! I have to say i’m going to give it a try soon! Thank you for making the tutorial and sharing it, Marianne! Love the fairy too! x

    Like

    Reply

  11. Brenda
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 15:10:06

    I greatly enjoyed this tutorial! You explained it so well. This does not seem to take up too much time and makes sure a meaningful gift. I think I’ll make one for my mother. I have your beautiful tea time card and what better way to show it off than to add this wonderful tea cup. My mother will be thrilled. I only get to see her once a year, so sending this to her will be special. Thanks for the artistic flare!!

    May your day be absolutely wonderful,
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

